Sig Sauer P365 [Review+Video]: The Complete Carry Gun?

Man oh man did SIG make a huge splash when they announced their 10+1 capacity 9mm micro-compact pistol.

What had stunned and stopped me, and left me stuttering is disbelief and doubt was the dimensions of SIG Sauer P365 pistol. The initial press release showed what’s a small gun, but showed nothing for scale.

Sig 365 Unboxing
Sig 365 Unboxing

What was shocking was the fact the SIG P365 was roughly the same size as the Glock 43 (full review) but carried a total of 10 + 1 rounds of 9mm. 

P365 vs Glock 43
P365 vs Glock 43

After finally getting to handle one at SHOT 2018 I was impressed and knew I had to have one.

So now I have one.

It took some time because the gun had teething issues and production was stopped, but finally it’s here again.

Most innovative CCW gun [2018]
499
at Brownells

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

We’ll cover tons of stuff and by the end you’ll know all about the P365 and if it makes sense for your carry and shooting needs.

Oh, and now we have a video too!

If that helped, please subscribe to our YouTube channel since we’re adding new videos every week!

Now onto the written review…

Initial Impressions

The SIG P365 is a tiny gun.

It’s effortless to carry and super comfortable. It packs ten rounds and comes with two 10 round magazines. One is flush fitting and the other features a slight pinky extension.

The P365 also has a factory 12 round magazine that extends the length of the gun overall just a hair. This would give you twice the capacity of the Glock 43, and nearly twice that of the capacity of the S&W Shield and Walther PPS M2.

Sig P365 Mags
Sig P365 magazines (left to right) 12 round extended magazine, 10 round with pinky extension, 10 round flush fit

Sig Sauer does advertise heavily that it’s a 10 + 1 gun, which is true, but it can be a hassle to load that full magazine with one in the chamber. You have to force the magazine in when it’s full.

This iteration of SIG also comes with the SIG Sauer XRay3 night sights, which are amazing. The front sight is a high visibility day and night sight. The front sight has a high visibility green ring around a tritium vial.

The rear sight rocks two tritium vials and besides that are blacked out. The rear sight is serrated to reduce glare in bright environments.

The rear sight rocks two tritium vials and besides that are blacked out. The rear sight is serrated to reduce glare in bright environments.
The rear sight rocks two tritium vials and besides that are blacked out. The rear sight is serrated to reduce glare in bright environments.

Compared to the Competition

The CCW market is a crowded one. There are more guns than ever designed for concealed carry that is small, potent and easy to carry. To keep this an apples to apple comparison, we are only comparing 9mms to 9mms.

Glock 43 provided by online gun store Omaha Outdoors
Glock 43 provided by online gun store Omaha Outdoors

Glock 43

The Glock 43 was a huge deal a few years ago, which is true whenever Glock releases something new. The G43 is a single stack 9mm that features the same simplistic design Glock fans have come to know and love.

Here is how they stack up size wise.

 Sig P365Glock 43
Width:1"1.02"
Length:5.8"6.26"
Weight:17.8oz17.95oz
Barrel Length:3.1"3.39"
Height:4.3"4.25"
Capacity:10+16+1

Walther PPS M2

The original Walther PPS was one of the first single stack carry guns and came out well before the Shield, the XDs, or the Glock 43. The PPS M2 was a bit of a modernization of the design with a more Americanized magazine release, a rounder grip, and a lack of rail.

 Sig P365Walther PPS M2
Width:1"1"
Length:5.8"6.3"
Weight:17.8oz21.1oz
Barrel Length:3.1"3.18"
Height:4.3"4.4" to 5.3"
Capacity:10+16 to 8+1

Smith & Wesson Shield 2.0

The Shield is the American heavy hitter in the single stack polymer frame firearms realm. This little guy was and is extremely popular, affordable, and very easy to find. Outside of the trigger, there isn’t too much you can say is bad about the gun.

 Sig P365S&W Shield 2.0
Width:1".99"
Length:5.8"6.1"
Weight:17.8oz20.8oz
Barrel Length:3.1"3.1"
Height:4.3"4.5"
Capacity:10+17+1 or 8+1

Glock 26

Since I’m comparing it to nothing but single stacks lets take a minute to compare it to the Glock26. The Glock 26 is a favorite 9mm double stack, subcompact Glock designed for concealed carry.

 Sig P365Glock 26
Width:1"1.18"
Length:5.8"6.41"
Weight:17.8oz21.17oz
Barrel Length:3.1"3.42"
Height:4.3"4.17"
Capacity:10+110 to 33+1

Looking at a variety or single stacks and a few double stacks tell me SIG designed this gun the right way. They’ve given it double stack capacity in a gun the size of a single stack. This could potentially be a revolution in the CCW handgun industry.

Speaking with local dealers, they say they can’t get enough of them. My favorite gun store has a waiting list with about a dozen people on it. It could be the next big thing in CCWs and create a trend in the industry for smaller, double stack 9mms.

Simple looking, but still pleasing
Simple looking, but still pleasing

SIG designed the magazine first and then built the gun around in. If that’s true, the design works and is brilliant.

Ergonomics

Let’s talk about ergonomics here. They can make or break a gun. A lot of single stacks have a few different issues, and they are often related to compromises made to the grip to reduce size.

The SIG sports a very functional and comfortable grip. It has a tremendous little palm swell that fills the hand well. The trigger guard has a nice undercut that allows you to get an excellent and full grip on the gun.

Pinky extension is a must for larger hands!
Pinky extension is a must for larger hands!

With the 10 round magazines rocking the pinky extension I can fit my entire hand on the grip. There is no hanging pinky here, and I like that. A better grip means more control.

Small guns tend to be hard to control, so the more control, the better.

The gun’s controls are simple and easy to reach. The slide lock is small but textured with a ‘step’ that allows your thumb to reach it with ease. The gun’s magazine release is triangular and is a low profile design.

Easy to use trangle safety
Easy to use triangle safety

It’s not hard to reach, but it’s not like the magazine release you’d find on a fighting pistol. It’s small, but its something you have to expect from a little gun.

The trigger is brilliant. I’ll say it now it’s superior to the other pistols we’ve compared the P365 too. It’s crisp, gives a very clean break, and a tremendous audible and tactile reset. It’s not a match grade trigger, but as a stock trigger, it’s impressive.

On the Range

Shooting the SIG P365 is more fun than it should be. Over time I’ve gotten pretty used to shooting small handguns, but you can always feel the discomfort associated with that hand slapping recoil.

The P365 isn’t a Glock 17 regarding comfort, but it does have high marks for comfort.

Small gun, but large enough to get a full grip on
Small gun, but large enough to get a full grip on

A significant portion of this comfort factor comes from the excellent grip. It doesn’t feel like I’m holding a board like the PPS and Glock 43. The higher undercut allows me to get a full grip on the gun and this also helps mitigate recoil and even muzzle rise.

Hitting accurate double taps is pretty straightforward. If you take a peek at my target here, you’ll see it marks out the critical areas of a man-sized opponent.

I can quickly place a double tap in the vital areas of the chest and pelvis area.

That's not a miss, that's a 'combat effective' hit!
That’s not a miss, that’s a ‘combat effective’ hit!

Accuracy is also top notch, thanks to the combination of great trigger, great sights, and a little practice with the fundamentals.

Backing out to 25 yards placing shots into the chest or pelvic area isn’t a challenge. I can group an entire magazine where they all need to be.

At 35 to 50 yards I can even ring my 21-inch ShootSteel popper if I take it slow. Of course, I’m not hitting 100% of the shots, but at least 70%.

Rack the slide
Easy to rack the slide

Lastly, I want to say the gun itself is quite easy to rack. More so than most small firearms, and if you have weaker hand strength, I think this is an excellent choice. It’s not a compromise like the S&W 380 Shield EZ.

Conceal Carrying It

This has also been my carry gun for the last month or so and I’ve been carrying it in my No Print Wonder V3 in the IWB configuration. This holster is quite lovely, and one of my favorites so far. The holster can only do so much.

The SIG P365 is a tiny gun; it’s so comfortable and just one of those guns you’ll forget you’re carrying. The SIG P365 is a great little carry gun, and it’s been a welcome entry into my waistband.

Perfect for IWB CC
Perfect for IWB CC

It’s currently May in Florida (at the time of writing this…), which is like August everywhere else. I’ve been rocking regular summer clothes and light shirts and pants and had zero issue toting it.

The P365 conceals extremely well, without compromising comfort or my ability to draw the gun.

Recommended Holsters

Check out our favorite brands…and ways of carrying in Best Concealed Carry Holsters.

But our favorites are:

65
at CrossBreed

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Ammo Bears Mentioning

Lastly, I want to mention the new SIG P365 ammunition. Named 365 this ammo is designed for tiny guns, like the P365 or the Ruger LC9, or Glock 43, or any other pocket pistol 9mm.

It’s light recoiling, uses reduced flash powder, and best of all comes in both defensive and training ammo.

16
at Cabelas

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

The training ammo is 115-grain FMJ, and the defensive ammo is 115-grain JHP. The rounds are identical, except for the projectile of course. The cartridges are even loaded on the same machines.

What this gives you are rounds that feature the same recoil, muzzle rise, and point of aim. You’ll be able to effortlessly switch between training ammo and defensive ammo without missing a hitch.

The only problem with the SIG P365 ammo…it’s harder to find in stock than it is to find a P365 itself!

Alternative options

Thankfully, SIG isn’t the only company – or even the first – to offer a line of ammo that is designed for short barreled sub-compact pistols.

Federal HST is a long established defensive ammo but it now comes in a new flavor – HST Micro.

24
at Lucky Gunner

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Designed for small guns, the HST Micro has less flash, less recoil, less noise, and fires subsonically.

Best of all? It still expands like you would expect from standard Federal HST ammo. Check out the Lucky Gunner Ballistics Test for more science goodness.

HST Micro
HST Micro expansion

If you want more defensive and training ammo options, check out our Best 9mm Ammo article!

By The Numbers

Reliability: 5/5

I had zero hitches with any of the ammo I used. This includes the 365 training and defensive ammo, Speer 124 Grain JHPs, Tula, Winchester Steel, and more. No jams, failure to ejects, or magazine failures occurred.

This is even after I dropped magazine after magazine while practicing my reloads. The gun works, and I’ve never cleaned it, or even added oil after receiving it from SIG.

Ergonomics: 3/5

While the ergonomics are solid for a small gun, it’s still a tiny gun. The magazine will often catch your hand while reloading and fail to drop free. I’m almost always resting my thumb on the slide lock, which creates a situation where the slide rarely locks to the rear after the last shot.

40
at GunMag Warehouse

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Other than that the gun is comfortable to shoot, has a great trigger, and very minimized recoil and muzzle rise.

Accuracy: 4/5

For a small gun, it’s quite accurate. The short sight radius is an issue, but when it comes to defensive use, this gun is more accurate than it needs to be. The great sights and trigger make it a smooth shooter.

Sig 365 ADS
Sig 365 firing

Accessories and Upgrades: 4/5

Before this was an abysmal 2/5 because the only things you could get were holsters.

Now that I’ve had my 365 for over a year…here are some of my favorite upgrades that I use daily.

P365 Upgrades The Whole Lot
P365 Upgrades The Whole Lot

Update!  Streamlight has made a TLR-6 light for the P365.  We love ours so far.

TLR-6 on P365
TLR-6 on P365

Not the brightest at 100 lumens…but plenty enough for night time identification.  And we love the push-button on/off.

106
at Amazon

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

TLR-6 Outdoors
TLR-6 Outdoors

Bang For your Buck/Value: 3/5

With an MSRP of 599.99 and magazines running between 35 to 48 dollars, this gun is priced a little higher than other competitive pistols. That being said it’s not priced too much higher. The magazines are a tad pricey, but they are well made.

I would have upped the score a point is they included a 12 round mag instead of two 10 round magazines. Are 48 bucks worth an extra two rounds? I haven’t decided yet.

Overall: 4/5

Conclusion

The SIG P365 is my favorite subcompact 9mm so far. I enjoy shooting it, carrying it, and I never feel likes it’s too much or too little. It’s one of the few pocket pistols I’ll take out and plink with for fun.

Most small guns I shoot are for training, and keeping skills sharp. This one is just fun to fire. No slide bite, no hand slapping recoil, just a little gun that goes bang when I pull the trigger.

Most innovative CCW gun [2018]
499
at Brownells

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Does anyone have some time with the SIG P365? If so what are your thoughts? If not, what is a gun that’s captured you? Check out our Best P365 Upgrades and also Best CCW Guns (Across Calibers).

81 Leave a Reply

  • Francis

    I just recently joined the ranks of the ccw crowd. I have a good friend at work that had bought a 365 and loved it. Having to wait awhile to get one I guess turned out to be a good thing as I was not in on the first run of them that had issues. Ive had mine for about 6 or 7 months now, I did right away buy 2 12 round mags, ( I carry it with one in it and one in reserve) which I think make the 365 much better to shoot. I have put a Hogue slip on beavertail cover on it and just received a flat faced trigger from Gray Guns. I havent put the trigger in it yet, I am really looking forward to trying it afterwards. I love the gun overall, accurate, reliable. Just tweeked it a little bit to make it "mine" I have 2 other Sig Sauer pistols so Im not surprized that I like it.

    5 days ago
  • Marcus Aurelius Tarkus

    After many years with a beloved PPK/S as my EDC, I bought a P365. I truly miss the familiarity and the classic fashion statement of the former. But now that the (ugly) latter is my EDC, I appreciate 1) the 8 additional rounds total (including one spare mag) and 2) the greater power of the 9x19 cartridge. Being a lifetime SA hammer-fire guy, I even managed to easily adjust to the smooth striker fire of the Sig. I still love and shoot the PPK/S. On a rare occasion, I will pack it again. But it is officially and honorably retired from EDC.

    1 month ago
  • Terry Wacasey

    I got the original and love it but I'm glad they've come out with a model with a thumb safety. I grew up with the 1911 and I'm comfortable with complex neuro-muscular tasks like using a safety or driving a stick shift.

    1 month ago
  • Matt

    The P356 ROCKS! I’ve retired ALL of my previous EDC pistols. ...one could ALMOST go shirtless in the beach and still conceal this masterpiece. Several thousand rounds at the range, no issues. Absolutely fun to shoot. Look no further for an EDC.

    1 month ago
  • 9mm

    For me the grip with the 12 round magazines fit my hands perfect while still being completely concealable love where the trigger breaks before the back of the trigger guard the sights are to me the best sights on the market day or night the accuracy is as good as any compact gun l own with a 3.5 inch barrel to 15 yards have shot 800 rounds in 4 range visits the gun has not had a malfunction to feed fire eject or lock back so far has been as reliable as the best guns l own this is my second Sig I've owned not a Sig fan boy have many other guns Walther Ruger Smith Wesson Canik Rock Island so really not brand loyal but like guns that operate reliably and shoot well so far love the P365

    1 month ago
  • Dennis Eagleberger

    Went from a 43 to the sig 365, will not go back. The 12 round gives me a great grip, my targeting went way up from the 43 Glock.

    2 months ago
  • Ryno

    More than happy! Over 6000 rounds of mixed fmj and jhp ammo without a single malfunction while also rotating all mag sizes available. Very accurate for size and great stock trigger. Just to test Reliability, let it stay dirty for almost a 1000 rounds of use and still no issues!

    2 months ago
  • Mister Ed

    I am totally satisfied with mine. Somewhere near 2800 - 3000 rounds through it so far. Deliberately mixed various ammunition in single magazines with no feeding or ejecting issues. It's super accurate, I love the trigger, it's my go to carry weapon of choice.

    2 months ago
  • Pete

    I’d like to see you review the MS-MA model.

    3 months ago
  • Mike Pate

    I’ve had my Sig P-365 for a month now and found it to be everything your article states. Trouble free, comfortable to shoot. Accurate as the shooter. Great sites and trigger out of the box. Did get the 12 round mag. Both 10 & 12 are stiff to load for the first few times. Very happy with my purchase.

    6 months ago
  • Robert Maletta

    I have a Sig P365 have had three range visits with 650 rounds of 115 grain brass federal white box target FMJ and 50 rounds of 115 grain federal white box XM90001 JHP ammo without any malfunction what so ever the gun is very concealable very accurate to 15 yards a joy to shoot the trigger and reset is good the sights are some of the nicest on a factory gun l have two twelve round magazines for it it's my daily carry and so far l couldn't be happier with it

    6 months ago
  • D Patten

    Anyone suggest whether it’s best to use the Luger or the auto ammunition in the 365?

    6 months ago
  • Jonathan Sitz

    I have the p365 love the gun. Have no issues. Question on defensive ammo, I was using gold dot short barrel and went to the 365 v-crown, is any one having a issue with the v- crown not expanding through cloths? If so what defensive ammo is the best for micro pistol for expansion

    7 months ago
  • Randy

    Just picked this up for my daughter and took it to the range. Shot great and she loves it. Snappy? No but I am used to a Glock 27, now that is snappy! My daughter did have a little issue with limp wristing it but she did just finish a crossfit competition that included 50 handstand push-ups lol!

    7 months ago
  • Michael Fallon

    The early "teething" problems were broken firing pins, striker issues. Firing pins were also dragging, making a trench in the case primers. I think that is when they stopped production, to make the necessary fixes. Sounds like they are good now.

    7 months ago
  • Eric

    Sig 365 been carrying it now bout 6 months, it has been the most comfortable pistol I have ever carried. Heard good and bad reviews about it so was little skeptical a first. The more I shoot it , the harder it is to put down really dead on for a little gun and been shooting a Glock 43 . It just seems to hit where u point it but had to get a pinky extension for my other mag, wanted both the same .mag spring pretty strong . I have little pocket loader if needed. Holster is just iwb Tagua.

    7 months ago
  • Ryan M Staebler

    Thank you Travis. Your "man's man" style of writing makes these PewPew articles particularly enjoyable. I appreciate your work, keep it up.

    8 months ago
    • Jesse Aston

      Should I buy a 365 OR wait...

      7 months ago
  • John F

    I previously owned a 365; great little shooter not so hip on Sig. Not going to bash them to hard but will share my story... I purchased a P365, p320 x-five, x-carry, and MPX PSB. And 2 Romeo 1 for my P320s. Yeah I tried being a fan boy, but a bit disappointed. The whole drop fire deal rubbed me the wrong way. I even asked for them to add the manual safety. What I learned was that even with a trigger job my pull weight was going to rise being an xseries. Then I noticed my 365 started to light impact the primer and lil off center. Sir we see that you could send in your 365 and we will be happy to install your sights nothing wrong with your trigger strike but we highly recommend you send us in your 365.... Really pls Sig just tell me we would like to examine your 365 there may be an issue ... Just say it. Tired of all this cat and mouse non finished products to market I feel like a video game producer selling it before ready for market but that's a whole other gig download issue I have... My solution came I got rid of the x5 and p365. Didn't really care I had a nice shooting G43 and then the best of the best G48 was released... I took my G43 top and put it on my G48 frame and I got myself a mini G45 10 rounds af a pretty cool long slide G43. Score to all previous G43 owners... Now I have something that competes with the P365. I wish that I could post a pic for everyone. The 365 is a wonderful lil piece but for me I love the larger grip and the options that are available with a Glock.

    8 months ago
  • HuntingtonGuy

    I’m a big guy with big mitts. My Shield is pretty comfortable but without that little spacer on the mag I’d have a floating pinky. How does the 365 compare in terms of grip? Surface area and comfort as well as how the support hand fits? I haven’t fired a 365 yet but the 2.0’s seem to be crowd pleasers. Any replies appreciated.

    9 months ago
    • Bryan

      I am a big guy too - it is amazing for the size - I went with the 12 round mags - love it!

      8 months ago
  • Jeff

    Wheres your eye protection bro?

    9 months ago
    • Hdjkstr

      Agree on that ! Geeez !

      7 months ago
      • M J

        Exactly, I always put on my eye protection in a self defense situation. Safety first.

        6 months ago
  • Steve Plank

    Why the word " rocks " or " rocking "? Aren't the words " uses " or " has " good enough?

    10 months ago
    • Eric Hung

      They will suffice...but it's how we roll, broski!

      10 months ago
  • Tim

    I went shopping with my son. He chose the 365 from a full selection of 9s. We shot my two carry 9s, and the 365. WOW is all I can say. The 365 met and exceeded all our expectations. I would consider the 365 anyday as my carry gun. It is a great development and ...WOW!

    10 months ago
  • william

    My first and only CCW is the Glock 26. I like it enough and can shoot it well enough, but it’s big, especially in summer clothes. I am hoping the P365 conceals better. I went to Cabellas today but they didn’t have one in the case...said they had a back order of 700.

    10 months ago
  • Glenn Frischmann

    I am a retired Law Enforcement officer and current CCW license holder. I have had the pleasure of trying out just about every small subcompact gun that has come out over the years. I have been looking for that "perfect" carry gun, you know, the good shooter, decent caliber and comfortable to carry and conceal. My favorite for many years was the Glock 27 in .40 cal. It is a great gun but it was always just so block like, I found it uncomfortable to carry. Later, I moved on to the Ruger LC9 and than the LC9s but I had reliability issues with them. I also did not like the LC9s trigger, much too light for me. I tried the Glock 42 but again I was not really sold on its reliability. The one gun that I have carried frequently in the interim however is the Ruger LCP. This little gun is super reliable, great to carry and after I had better sights installed a great shooter. The addition of the Hogue grips made it even better. The downside to this gun is the caliber. The .380 can be an effective round but in such a small gun and with only six or seven rounds you have to be very proficient in your shot placement. That means lots of practice and with the .380 that means lots of money. I happened to come across the Sig Sauer P365 by chance. I was at my range and I saw the gun in the case. I checked it out and I bought it on the spot. I later put 500 rounds through the gun and it did not miss a beat. This gun was every bit as reliable as my small Glock but oh so much more comfortable to fire. Better sights and for me much better ergonomics. I carry this gun in a deep cover rig in front of my body under my pants in a Pistol Wear neoprene holster and it is the most comfortable and concealable rig I have ever worn. The gun and holster were made for each other. The Sig also fits into an old DeSantis rig I bought years ago for my old back up gun, a Smith + Wesson .380 Sigma. The magazines for this gun are very expensive at $45 - $50 bucks apiece but they are great quality. I would recommend buying the 12 round mags as they give you so much more comfort and grip while shooting. You also get a much better purchase in holding the gun. Sorry for the long winded review but I must say Sig has hit a homer with this gun. As far as I am concerned this is the CCW gun to beat if you need a small, accurate, reliable and concealable firearm.

    11 months ago
    • Victor Aguilar

      What's the Pistol Wear neoprene holster that you are using. I would like to try it. I need to carry deep concealed at work so that may be the solution for me.

      9 months ago
  • Sam Soper

    I was never that accurate nor a fan of smaller handguns. I currently fire a FNX-9, which I love. I was refining my technique and finally happy with my grouping, so today I test fired 50 rounds with a P365. I saw little difference in handling or accuracy and easily shot center mass at 15 yards, even when testing the rapid fire trigger reset. Awesome handgun, soon to be my second.

    11 months ago
  • harry

    would you trade in a p938 for a 365?

    11 months ago
    • chuck

      I didnt trade in my p938 but its moving to second place behind my 365.. Never been a fan of striker fired but this is sweet. really accurate for a small pistol and a real good trigger.

      8 months ago
    • chuck

      Join the discussion...

      8 months ago
    • Brian W

      I did just that today. P938 had many reliability issues. Many misfeeds with quality ammo. Didn’t trust it any longer. Now I hold more rounds, just as slim. The P938 is too “pretty” to carry. Sweat and body grime near it down in 6 months.

      11 months ago
  • Tally

    Been thinking of purchasing for a while... think I just might

    11 months ago
  • Billy W.

    As I age, I find that my tolerance for lugging heavy EDC gear goes down each year. For well over a decade, my daily concealed carry gun was a full-size, steel-frame 1911 in .45 ACP. A few years ago, I transitioned to a Glock 17 with an Agency Arms trigger and Heinie Straight Eight sights. I recently decided to go even smaller, and after a bit of research I selected the P365. I picked one up a couple of days ago, and test-fired it yesterday using standard-pressure 115 gr FMJ. I didn't expect full-size accuracy from a sub-compact pistol with a short sight radius, but I was very pleasantly surprised. My first two magazines at 7 years punched the center out of a 2" adhesive dot. Well, that was to be expected, so no surprise there. Still, I was happy that it shot to point of aim. I then moved an IPSC target to 25 yards, and kept the next three magazines inside the A-box. In fact, aside from one round that was on the edge just inside the box, the 30 rounds grouped near the center of the A-box, exactly to point of aim. That's much better than I expected from such a small pistol. The trigger has several stages of creep, but this isn't noticeable when using a compressed surprise break. When slowly loading the trigger, I can pause just after the final stage of creep and apply the last few ounces of pressure to break the shot. Given its proven ability to put shots where I want them, I don't plan to have any trigger work done, despite the creep. I have ordered a Milt Sparks Summer Special 2 (my favorite CCW holster), a Blackhawk Mini Wing, and a Concealment Express IWB. It will take some time for the Summer Special to arrive, and I look forward to trying out the other two. So far, I love this little pistol and it will become my primary CCW once I receive the first of the holsters I ordered.

    11 months ago
  • Ronald Hunter

    I have shot the Sig 365. I like the gun and especially the trigger pull. That said I have 2 Kel Tech P11s. The trigger pull is heavy but if you get used to it with a little practice it is very accurate. The guns work flawlessly the major differences is I bought them for $160. I leave them in vehicles. When I get a chance I will buy another. Also they have 12+1 capacity and will work with s&w 59 series mags.

    11 months ago
    • LazrBeam

      If they will take S&W 59 mags then I think you'll find CZ 75 mags will also work. I' ve got a Keltec SUB 2000 that takes S&W 59 mags and CZ 75 mags will work in it.

      7 months ago
  • Don

    Been reading about how the P365 is a "breakthrough & game changing" concealed carry pistol because it holds 10 + 1 9mm. Like Sig Sauer invented the first one to do that. The KelTec P11 (10+1 9mm) has been on the market since the early 90's. While it is a nice weapon, don't try to take credit for being the first to produce one, in fact SCCY also has one. Both are dependable and a heck of a lot cheaper.

    1 year ago
  • Richard Dilorenzo

    It’s unlikely all the positive reports will overshadow the negative ones that appeared shortly after the release this past January. I was dissuaded from buying one then. I got an HKVP9SK instead.....Fast forward to early September....apparently the reports about the “ Gen 2” 365 are true. Video reviews of late show flawless performance. But it’s nearly impossible to change a skeptic’s mind. BTW... I got one with a born on date in late July...works just fine...

    1 year ago
  • DeAnna81

    My husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday. I told him the Sig P365 and it finally came in yesterday, yea!!! I can't get over that it's smaller than my Glock 43, but a 10+1. I also got the extended 12 round mag holder. I love the hand grip, perfect for a females hand. Have to wait and see how she shoots this weekend. No hearts and flowers for this girl. Besides, I'd probably shoot him if he wasted a $100 on flowers that would die in a couple days anyway, lol. Its easy to keep female Army veterans happy. Hold the flowers, bring on the weaponry ;)

    1 year ago
  • Jon

    Great article Travis! I am going to test this one out later this week. I did find that Sig has a micro light and two flavors of lasers now for the P365 proprietary rails. Cheers!

    1 year ago
  • ryan

    got mine in may, I love the 12 round mag for the full grip. still trying to determine if the sights are accurate . I feel like it shoots left and the front sight almost looks crooked :( I have had 2 other people shoot it and one guy said it was good, and the other guy saw what I saw.

    1 year ago
  • Patski762

    Waiting lists are for suckers! I bought a Ruger LC9 last Monday. Shot it Wednesday evening only to find that it didn't fit my left-handed bear paws very well, I dropped the mag 3 times in the 40 rounds I shot from it due to the non-reversible mag release. Took it back to the store yesterday (Friday) and saw a P365 in the case. Handled it, checked the manual to find that the mag release was southpaw compatible, gave the nice lady behind the counter an extra $180 and left with my new pistol. The first 2 mags I shot from it convinced me I made the right choice.

    1 year ago
  • Luke Grubham

    Hey all! I just bought my 365 last week. Manufacture date was August 8. I ran 20 Sig 365 rounds, 20 Sig vcrown rounds and 150 115gr Winchester white box with no problems. The firing pin mark swipes somewhat but not all that different from my glocks, hks, Springfield’s,canik, etc etc etc! I have average hands and she is a very nice shooter. I was worried I wouldn’t have fun shooting it but that is not the case. Going to pick up a 12 round mag this week. It’s amazing having 11 rounds loaded and a 10 round spate mag in my pockets and can’t tell it’s there. X-ray sights are awesome and easy to shoot. I unilaterally don’t buy new things so quickly but glad I did this time.

    1 year ago
  • Travis

    I just rented one at my local gun store. I put about 150 rounds through it and it shoot flawlessly and very accurately. I'm looking to get one once it's been around a little longer and I'm confident they've addressed any new him design issues that it's facing. It was a joy to shoot and the recoil was great for sick a tiny package.

    1 year ago
  • Frank

    Excellent article. Might look at replacing my Shield!

    1 year ago
  • Bill

    I've owned the P365 for a couple of months now, and I agree with most of this review. It's an amazingly fun gun to shoot. I've put over 600 rounds through it so far and not a single failure of any kind. My complaint is with the new ammo Sig has introduced specifically for the P365. Their personal defense ammo appears to be adequate and reasonably priced. However, what genius in the marketing department thought it would be a good idea to package it in 20 round boxes? I carry mine with a full 10 round mag, one in the shoot and a spare 12 round mag. Even if i only choose to carry a spare 10 round mag, a 20 round box is not sufficient. I wouldn't mind paying a little extra for a 25 round box, but now I've got to purchase 2 boxes at a time.

    1 year ago
    • Travis

      I agree. Most self defense ammo is packages and sold this way. I guess it's there way to ensure you but at least 2 boxes rather than one?

      1 year ago
  • doinkus

    No mention of the known issues of the 365, including dragging firing pin?

    1 year ago
    • Connor H

      They stated that production was halted to iron out some bugs, which is accurate, and Sig has unequivocally said that the primer drag “issue” is working as intended, and that it shouldn’t cause early firing pin breakage. I’m not saying for sure that Sig is correct on that, but almost everything I’ve been able to find about this issue AFTER the recall seems to be hearsay, rumors, and a few anecdotal cases of broken firing pins. Considering the tens of thousands shipped, it seems to be a relatively minor concern. I have not seen sufficient evidence indicating that the firing pin concern is an actual common problem.

      1 year ago
      • doinkus

        I don't believe there's been a recall for the 365 yet.

        1 year ago
  • Andrew

    They ship with 10 round magazines so that there isn’t any problems selling them to liberal states with magazine restrictions, which makes perfect sense for a gun manufacturer to sell to everyone and not limit their market.

    1 year ago
  • guest

    Don't forget Hornady Critical Defense when talking about HP designed for short barreled pistols.

    1 year ago
  • maxwell carter

    seen a few vids on youtube with folks having some "minor" issues with this gun. Military Arms Channel being one of them.. you're talking about compact doublestack guns becoming the next trend?? i've owned a sccy cpx-1 for years.. same size as the sig and it's also 10 + 1 and it cost 250 bucks.. and i recently picked up a taurus g2c which is also the same size as the sig and it comes standard with a 12 + 1 capacity and it can also use sig 226 mags.. so you can go up to 20 rounds if need be and that gun sells for 250 bucks as well and i've had zero issues from either one... so before i spend 600 bucks on a sig, shop around.... there are other options out there !!!!!

    1 year ago
    • 9mm

      I've had a sccy and a g2c and I'm not going to knock them for the price hard to beat but comparing them to a sig p365 there is no comparison anything over 10 yards with the sccy and g2c accuracy suffered badly for me after hundreds of rounds out of both with the sig p365 first 200 rounds was able to hit a 12 inch paper plate 7 out of 10 at 15 yards with 3 rounds missing by 2 to 3 inches have never been able to do this with any other 3 inch barreled pistol this kind of accuracy I've only been able to do with guns that have a 3.5 barrel like my Walther p99c and Ruger SR9c but these two guns do shoot better at 20 yards or more than the Sig but both are getting close to full sized 4 inch barreled guns for a 3 inch barreled gun the Sig is more accurate than any gun of the same size and the trigger and reset on it is very good very much like my Ruger SR9c

      9 months ago
    • Brian

      The Military Arms Channel has lost all credibility with me. There is an anti -Sig bias there which has degenerated to little more than a rant. Wannebe Internet Warrrors congregate there so they can reinforce each other's delusions.

      1 year ago
    • Connor H

      The Sccy is double action only with a very heavy pull. It’s admittedly smooth, but still very heavy for regular shooting. And the PT111 G2 (G2C) is a bit larger and not quite as ergonomic/comfortable to shoot, although I think it’s a great carry gun. I have one each in 9mm and .40, GF loves the 9.

      1 year ago
    • Chris C.

      It really depends on what you’re looking for in an EDC. Sure the SCCY and Taurus have been around for a while and for a lot cheaper, but not a lot of people want a carry gun with a heavy, long, double-action only trigger that’s in both of those. Unfortunately, a sub-compact trigger is always going to suck, but the one in the 365 sucks a lot less than those. Also, the SCCY feels like holding a brick in your hand with how fat the grip is (for me, at least). Everybody has their preferences, but until you feel and shoot a 365 you might want to check them out before you go saying they’re not worth the extra money. Besides, $600 is MSRP, but how many guns are selling at MSRP right now anyway? I picked one up for $500 at my lgs and see them at that price from Cabelas and Brownells pretty regularly.

      1 year ago
  • ToddC

    I have two of them. I showed mine to my wife and she told me to get one for her. She has RA so finding a pistol that she can use has been a challenge. She actually asked me to take her to the range and then ran about 100 rounds through it. I'm closing in on the 1000 round mark on one and about 500 on the other with no problems. The Glock snobs ribbed me about the swipe mark on the primers until I brought out the 26. It does the same thing except the swipe mark is rectangular.

    1 year ago
    • Connor H

      Glock snobs are the worst thing about my local indoor range....

      1 year ago
  • Mike

    I have 400 rounds through mine, a mix of Speer Gold Dot 124gr +p, Federal 124 HST, American eagle 115gr, and Blazer 115gr. No problems the gun runs great so far, great trigger and sights.

    1 year ago
  • Connor H

    When’s the .40 S&W/.357 Sig version come out, with 9+1 and 11+1 mags? 9mm out of a 3.1” barrel is a bit on the low side of power for me. Semi-joking, I put 150ish rounds through my buddy’s P365, seems like an amazing carry gun, hopefully an actual “paradigm shift”, unlike the same term gun-writers throw around at every new compact gun that has nothing actually new or original.... Thin, double-stack sub-compacts are the future of the industry, proud of Sig for figuring that out. Once Springfield and S&W figure out how to make a comparable gun without patent infringement we will be in a true golden age of carry, and the Shields and XDs’s of the world will be obsolete. But still.... I want one in .40..... *waits for the next guy to come demand one in .45*

    1 year ago
    • David

      I want one in .45 ACP :D I also have a dream of a Beretta 92FS in .45 ACP...I dont think that dream will ever come true.

      1 year ago
      • Andrew

        10mm if we’re wishing....rubbing the magic lamp!

        1 year ago
        • Connor H

          Dude you read my mind. If I had my way, every handgun would be available in 10mm. I’ve been waiting 8+ years on a 10mm XDM compact, the 3.8” barrel and weight would help tame the kick while still getting most of the benefit.

          1 year ago
  • Ben

    Wait til you hit 2000 rounds and the trigger goes dead.

    1 year ago
    • Ryno

      Over 6000 rounds, still flawless for me.

      1 month ago
    • Connor H

      Evidence on post-recall guns? And a “Glocktalk” forum post does not constitute evidence....

      1 year ago
  • Matt Witmer

    I had 4 misfires of the 50 rounds of SIG 365 FMJ ammo through my p365. The 4 rounds ejected quietly with little recoil however the shell did not eject. The other 46 seemed no different than any other 115 grain rounds and shot fine. It was disturbing though as I was concerned of weather or not I was going to lose my hand. The 365 V Crowns all shot great. I did not contact Sig about the issue as I did not record the incident and only had one box of each on hand. Has anyone else had this issue? I have been searching for comments everywhere on this ammo and haven’t seen anything yet. Was it a “bad box”? Yet to be determined. Love this pistol otherwise and carry it everywhere everyday (365). Thanks

    1 year ago
    • Connor H

      I’ve fired 50 rounds of the 365 ammo through a 365, no issues. That ammo is too expensive to shoot more of as range ammo. Personally, I’d strongly recommend Federal Micro HST 150gr for carry. Literally one of the best performing 9mm rounds out of short barrels, and has all the same desirable characteristics as the Sig ammo, plus more widely tested consistent expansion. Also, curious, why did you think you were going to lose your hand from a stovepipe? A stovepipe is caused by too little pressure/recoil force, so it’s the opposite of what might cause hand-endangering events...

      1 year ago
      • Matt Witmer

        It did not stovepipe, the casing stayed in place after discharge. The way the gun reacted to the defective round was what spooked me. If it was a pressure issue in too much or too little I figure both cases are not good.

        1 year ago
        • Connor H

          So the round fired, but the casing did not extract from the chamber? That’s an odd malfunction to have with factory brass ammo... I misunderstood your original post.

          1 year ago
  • Josh

    Sig has a light and laser that will fit on their rail. I haven't had a chance to try them yet but they look interesting. I've had mine for a couple of months now and it remains fantastic. I have cleaned mine and it's a breeze.

    1 year ago
  • Terry Thornock

    I cannot believe how far down I had to read before I discovered the Sig P-365 is a 9mm caliber pistol. The article is a great review, but I thought I was reading about a .380 ACP for the longest time!!!! I feel you should state the caliber in the title of the article so someone like me, who has never heard of the P-365 would know what they are reading about.

    1 year ago
    • David

      Edited the first sentence and the fourth sentence, just for you ;)

      1 year ago
  • Steve

    So why was the Springfield XD Mod2 not compared?

    1 year ago
    • Connor H

      The XDs Mod2 would be the more appropriate comparison. The XD Mod 2 has a .1” shorter barrel and is almost .3” thicker. Great gun, don’t get me wrong, but the 365 is literally the same width as existing single stacks. The Glock 26 comparison gives a good idea of how traditional double stack subcompacts compare. The XD Mod 2 is in the same category as the G26.

      1 year ago
  • Bert

    G26 weights 21.7 ounces.

    1 year ago
    • David

      Listed the loaded weight, oops. Fixing it now!

      1 year ago
New to Guns ? Check out our beginners guns video course. Start Now