[Review] Palmetto State Armory (PSA) AR-15 (3 Rifles)

Are PSA’s low prices too good to be true?

For years I’ve heard of Palmetto State Armory and their ultra-affordable AR-15s.  The only negative things were some finishing issues and shipping delays here and there.

But… for a long time I was a little obsessed with name brands and scoffed at sub-$500 rifles.

I finally bit the bullet…

PSA 5.56 & .223 Wylde
PSA 5.56 & .223 Wylde

I got three of their uppers (16″ 5.56 with front sight block, 16″ 5.56 free-float rail, 18″ stainless .223 Wylde), one of their lowers, and shot a lot of rounds through them.

Best Complete AR-15 on a Budget
499
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

By the end you’ll know if a PSA rifle/upper is right for you…and the best model to get based on your use.

*Update* We have a full video review on PSA AR-15s too!

If that helped, please subscribe to our YouTube channel since we’re adding new videos every week!

We’ve also got reviews of their other calibers too:

Table of Contents

Loading...

Who Is It For?

  • Budget-conscious buyers who want something that works and can overlook some details like perfect finishing and dead-on accuracy
  • Someone who wants a lot of options in terms of barrel length and handguard
  • People who can wait a while for something to go into stock or ship

Why Is It So Cheap?

PSA sent me these three uppers and one lower for testing.

But they are going through the same testing procedures I do for all my other guns.

And at a higher round count since reliability is key when I recommend more budget-friendly options.

PSA Break-In
One range session for one rifle

I spoke with PSA and the reason their AR-15s are so affordable is due to full vertical integration.  From raw metal to the finished product…they do it themselves.

Fit, Feel, & Finish

PSA has their Freedom line which is their most affordable and is pretty much mil-spec (meets military specifications).

499
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

However, as I outlined in our AR-15 Buyer’s Guide…I like a mid-length gas system way better than the standard carbine-length.

It gives you more rail space and a softer shooting impulse since the gas tube is longer and gas block is more forward.

Unless you’re going for the pure M4 look…I’d opt for something in the mid-length arena.  Or at least their Magpul MOE furniture models so you can add some rails in the future.

Barrels & Gas Systems

For my upper with an FSB (front sight block…that triangle thing you see above), I went with a 16″ mid-length Magpul model and Nitride-coated barrel.

249
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

This gives me a longer handguard (with M-LOK), ability to add rails, Magpul rear flip sight, and a nicer barrel finish compared to phosphate.

 PSA 16" Nitride with FSB
PSA 16″ Nitride with FSB

Since it has a pinned FSB…it’s a little front-heavy….but that’s the nature of the beast.  The FSB is pinned well and the handguard is really on there.  You can see my segment of Picatinny I added to the handguard’s M-LOK attachment points.

PSA Pinned FSB
PSA Pinned FSB

The next upper would be my favorite overall setup.  16″ mid-length with a 13.5″ M-LOK free-floating barrel and Nitride barrel.

PSA 16" Nitride Free Floating
PSA 16″ Nitride Free Floating

Now you get the benefit of not having an FSB which helps the weight balance and also having a free-floating handguard that increases accuracy by taking away contact points on the barrel.

For absolute reliability I’d still opt for the FSB model…but free-float AR’s are now the standard, you can attach a lot of stuff, and the gas block is really on there.

PSA FSB vs Free-Floating
PSA FSB vs Free-Floating

The last model is the 18″ .223 Wylde which is a relatively new chambering that will shoot BOTH 5.56 and .223 but offers a slight accuracy edge.  Usually, you’ll see the more accurate barrels in stainless which is what we have here.

This comes in an even softer shooting rifle-length gas system and 15″ M-LOK free-floating rail.

PSA .223 Wylde 18"
PSA .223 Wylde 18″

All came with mil-spec A2 bird-case flash-hiders that were installed correctly and didn’t require superhuman strength to take off and switch for some compensators.

Barrels

PSA seems to have three tiers of barrels.

  1. Premium: chrome-lined or CHF (cold hammer forged) that are made by FN
  2. Standard: Nitride, Melonite, and stainless barrels
  3. Basic: phosphate coated

The two 5.56 uppers I received were Nitride coated instead of regular phosphate…while the Wylde was stainless steel.

PSA Barrel Coatings
PSA Barrel Coatings

Nitride (two left black ones) is smooth while stainless is…stainless.  The BCG on the right gives you a sense of what the rougher texture phosphate looks like.  Nitride is supposed to be a little tougher and I like the smooth look.

I took apart the free-floating 5.56 and Wylde.  Straight gas tubes…

Straight Gas Tube
Straight Gas Tube

And at least 35 in-lb of torque on the gas block with some sort of weird spill on the 5.56.

PSA 5.56 Gas Block Torque
PSA 5.56 Gas Block Torque

Upper Receivers

There’s not too much to say here…everything is where it’s supposed to be.

PSA Upper Receivers
PSA Upper Receivers
  • Ejection port door works
  • Forward assist works
  • Charging handle feels mil-spec and works
  • T-Markings present and easy to read
  • Evenly phosphate coated

If I had to nitpick…there’s some super small machining marks on the forward assist for two of the uppers I had.  Not even sure you can see them in the pics.

Small Machining Marks on Upper Receivers
Small Machining Marks on Upper Receivers

Handguards

The Magpul mid-length polymer handguard is what it is.  A great update to the mil-spec plastic handguard that can’t attach anything.

PSA 5.56 Uppers
PSA 5.56 Uppers

The free-floating M-LOK handguards work too.  The thin profile feels great in the hand…but could use a little more TLC in the CNC to get rid of sharper edges.

Also the 13.5″ is a little on the purple-ish side and a little off in orientation between receiver and handguard…but nothing an Allen wrench and a small turn didn’t fix.

PSA Handguard Misalignment
PSA Handguard Misalignment

The more “premium” Wylde upper was properly aligned and colored.

BCG + Charging Handles

As mil-spec as they come.  Everything is as it should be and the gas-keys are properly staked.

PSA BCGs Disassembled
PSA BCGs Disassembled

The 5.56 uppers had phosphate coated BCGs (mil-spec) while the Wylde had a Nitride coated one.

PSA Phosphate & Nitride BCGs
PSA Phosphate & Nitride BCGs

If I had to nitpick again…the coating is a little bumpier than other phosphates I’ve used, but since only the rails of the BCG contact anything…there’s no real downside.

I found that the mil-spec phosphate BCGs were not MP marked (magnetic particle inspected) while the more premium .223 Wylde one was.

PSA Bolts
PSA Bolts (Bottom is Wylde)

All the bolts were listed Carpenter 158 steel (mil-spec) but I’ve seen some PSA models where it is 9310 steel.  Fine for civilian use but if you really want mil-spec…go for the Carpenter 158.  The carriers were all 8620 steel (mil-spec).

Charging handles were mil-spec as well.

PSA Charging Handles
PSA Charging Handles

Since I’ve gone with aftermarket charging handles…I cannot go back (Best AR-15 Charging Handles).

Lower

I built the lower as a kit so I added a few dings here and there (How to Build an AR-15 Lower).  I got the Magpul kit which has their buttstock, grip, and trigger guard.

This one also comes with PSA’s EPT trigger which is silver compared to mil-spec phosphate black.  Much less grit!

PSA Lower
PSA Lower

But for this one, I did have a little trouble threading the grip screw initially.  I’m thinking the coating was a little thick since I had to muscle my way through the initial turns.

Otherwise, everything installed as it should.

How Does It Shoot?

What really matters…right?

PSA 5.56 Testing
PSA 5.56 Testing

I took a bunch of ammo, a buddy, and the two 5.56 uppers to the range.  With the goal of putting as many rounds downrange as possible.

I cleaned the barrels but otherwise did not do any break-in procedures.  I started with ~300 rounds of Wolf Gold (Best AR-15 Ammo) through each one before the accuracy tests.

PSA Break-In
PSA Break-In

For the 16″ with FSB…there were two failures to load a new round after a magazine change in the first 40 rounds.  However, after that it shot without a hiccup.

For the M-LOK free-floating version, there was one failure to load on the first magazine change and no more problems afterward.

This is likely due to all the parts breaking in.

Recoil was standard and mild for both 5.56 uppers.  After a few mags, I was easily hitting 12″ plates at 100 yards with my EOTech.

PSA 5.56 Uppers
PSA 5.56 Uppers

But still made me realize how spoiled I’ve been with adjustable gas-blocks and compensators (Best AR-15 Upgrades).

Adjustable Gas Block & Compensator
Adjustable Gas Block & Compensator

One thing…

For the free-floating version, if you grip around the gas block like I do…you’ll feel a little heat when dumping rounds.  Not enough to burn…but enough to have a red hand after 500 rounds.

Here’s my buddy and me at our second range day.  I’m running my competition lower with a much better trigger (Best AR-15 Triggers).

*Update* A newer (and prettier) video of the MLOK PSA AR-15…still running great after several thousand more rounds.

Compatibility

The uppers worked flawlessly after the initial break-in on the following lowers:

  • Aero Precision (x2)
  • Colt
  • Anderson
  • Daniel Defense

While the lower worked with the following uppers:

  • Aero Precision (x2)
  • Colt
  • Daniel Defense

Accuracy

The 5.56 barrels are the middle of the road for PSA.  Let’s see how they fare.

I let the barrels cool down and then ran through Wolf Gold, PMC Bronze, American Eagle, and Federal Gold Match.

PSA 5.56 Testing Rounds
PSA 5.56 Testing Rounds

I used my standard testing platform for all my AR-15 stuff…

Testing PSA FSB
Testing PSA FSB

Targets were placed at 100 yards and I shot at a pace of around 1 shot per 10 seconds.  10 shots each group.

PSA FSB Accuracy
PSA FSB Accuracy

Mil-spec is 3-4 MOA which means 3-4 inch groups at 100 yards.  The FSB version falls within that (targets are 8″).  With PMC Bronze doing the best of the plinking rounds at around 3 MOA.

Gold Match does the best but keep in mind it’s about $1 a shot.  If you’re shooting that on a regular basis you’re probably looking at other rifles (Best AR-15s).

All in all…it’s as I expected.  When there’s a front sight block there’s a whole lot of stuff touching the barrel which doesn’t help accuracy.  Let’s see the free-floating model.

PSA Free Floating Accuracy
PSA Free Floating Accuracy

Much better!  Looks like all the groups closed up.  PMC Bronze and American Eagle are pretty even at what looks like 2 MOA.  Gold Match is still the ultimate winner but it’s not THAT much off from PMC and AE.

When you have a free-floating handguard there’s less contact with the barrel and the accuracy shows.

Now, how about the .223 Wylde we’ve forgotten?

PSA .223 Wylde 18"
PSA .223 Wylde 18″

Since this is a more premium barrel and made for accuracy…I did a break-in procedure with it as well as with PSA’s .224 Valkyrie (coming soon).

PSA Breakin Procedure
PSA Breakin Procedure

I cleaned the barrel and shot 1 round through before using copper solvent and a brush.  Repeat the shoot and clean for 5x total.  Then I changed it up to 5 shots before cleaning.  Repeat 5x.

I then plinked ~200 rounds.

Finally, I was ready…

PSA .223 Wylde Testing
PSA .223 Wylde Testing

I used a different lower with a Triggertech trigger which I might actually like more than my Hiperfire (Best AR-15 Triggers).  I started running low on Gold Medal so the last group only has 4 rounds.

PSA .223 Wylde Accuracy
PSA .223 Wylde Accuracy

Disappointing…

It really looks like the FSB version instead of something that uses a tighter chamber and a free-floating handguard.

I’ll continue testing but right now looks like I would stick with PSA’s regular 5.56 offerings (free-floating of course).

Recommended Models

The thing with PSA is that they are always in and out of stock of everything.  And they have almost every combination under the sun…which makes it nice but also a headache to find what you want.

Complete Rifles

No fuss of building anything…out of the box ready to go.

Best Complete AR-15 on a Budget
499
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

I again like mid-length gas systems and it looks like their Nitride barrels are GTG.  Their more premium selections (CHF) should be great as well if you have a little more to spend.  I haven’t spent time with their regular barrels (phosphate), but other reviews vouch for them.

I personally like free-floating M-LOK handguards since they give you added accuracy and lots of space to put stuff.  Unless you really want the look of an FSB…go for free-floating!

Uppers

Already have a lower and want an affordable upper?  There’s a bazillion options again…so here’s a search for 16″ mid-lengths to narrow it down a little:

249
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Remember to choose the options with BCG (bolt carrier group), CH (charging handle), and Magpul MBUS (flip backup sights) if you need them.

Lowers

Looking at complete lowers?  I prefer the Magpul editions…mil-spec buttstocks and pistol grips are not great.

150
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Rifle Kits

A little something I learned recently…retailers must add on an 11% tax for fully assembled firearms.

PSA has rifle kits which…if you’re a little handy…will save you a bunch when you build your own lower.

379
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

And be sure to get a stripped lower since the kit will contain everything except that.

40
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Follow our How to Build an AR-15 Lower guide to put it all together.

By the Numbers

Reliability: 5/5

After some minor break-in to loosen things up…my PSA uppers were fully reliable at my current round count of 1500 across all three.

Accuracy: 3/5

It’ll do its job within mil-spec with regular plinking ammo, and seems to like PMC Bronze overall the best (Best AR-15 Ammo).  Little bummed out that the .223 Wylde didn’t perform as well as it should.

Ergonomics: 4.5/5

Magpul kit makes it pretty good with the buttstock and pistol grip.  Free-floating handguard is thin but a little too sharp around the edges.

Looks: 4/5

Pretty average here but could use more consistency in color.

Customization: 5/5

It’s an AR-15 with M-Lok so the sky’s the limit.  Check out my list of the Best AR-15 Upgrades & Best AR-15 Optics if you need help.

Bang for the Buck: 5/5

You can get a fully reliable AR for under $500…and even lower if you get the kits.

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

Conclusion

The online legends are true.

PSA 5.56 & .223 Wylde
PSA 5.56 & .223 Wylde

Based on my testing I can totally recommend Palmetto State Armory for an affordable AR-15 that will go bang every time.

My favorite would still be their mid-length free-floating options…but their more M4-looking FSB ones also fit the bill.

Best Complete AR-15 on a Budget
499
at PSA

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

For now…stay away from their Wylde and soon I’ll have reports on even more PSA goodness.  Plus I’m going to put much more rounds in all three and update if anything changes.

And once you get one…check out our AR-15 Definitive Resource for everything AR.

We also have other PSA models reviewed:

What do you think of the review?  Is a PSA AR-15 on your horizon?  Or if you already have one…how’s it working out for you?

57 Leave a Reply

  • Angel

    Forgot to mention I was shooting hand loaded Ammo in that Bushmaster’s V-match

    1 second ago
  • Angel

    I don’t think I’ll be buying one soon , maybe for a truck gun but for any serious coyote work, nope. I have a old, 15 yr at least. Bushmaster carbine v-match that groups sub moa With a chrome lined barrel and no threaded for a flash hider on end. I like PSA but don’t like the accuracy results that was shown. Should have been better. PSA should do there own testing and show it. It may just be the shooter. Sorry, just saying.

    3 minutes ago
  • Ross Veckey II

    So what was your actual MOA results with the free float and and preferred ammo? I dont understand why you went through all the trouble of vicing it down and using multiple ammo types only to ommit the results.

    3 days ago
  • Joe

    Great review, and thanks for all of the add'l information. I see a lot of negative comments regarding PSA, so I just thought that I would share experience with them. I have bought many firearms, and equipment from PSA. They are what they are, and I personally, have had great success with everything I've bought from them. I've only had two small issues, if you can even call them issues. One was with a loose free-floating M-LOK handguard/rail system on an upper kit, and the other one was one of my pieces didn't have a great finish, but I bought it as a blemish, and for a great price. I tightened the M-LOK handguard up myself, and haven't had a problem since. Also, I've never received anything "used" from them, that I can tell. Otherwise everything has worked flawlessly. I get that their customer service might be a little difficult to deal with at times, but for those prices, I am willing to overlook a few things. I'm a big fan.

    3 weeks ago
    • Riley Townsend

      I'll second that endorsement, like you I have purchased a great deal of products from Palmetto State Armory and I find their products to be a great value.

      3 weeks ago
  • Sam

    PSA is a joke. They will not ship completed lowers to Maryland because of their company policy, not by law but because they not to.

    1 month ago
    • Mike

      I found out after a 2 week wait that they also do not ship to registered ffl’s in upstate ny

      4 days ago
  • PSALESSINCO

    I was a fan of PSA until they decided to cut off all AR and AK related products of any kind including firearms and any accessories to the people of Colorado. The firearms are banned in only three cities: Denver, Vail and the peoples Republic of Boulder. So what does PSA do? They tuck their tales and run. Why did PSA do this? I wish I knew but it seems they have a natural dislike and distrust for people out west. In my last email I asked them why they were doing this and in typical PSA fashion they decide to not respond at all. That’s what I call great customer service. Hey PSA, we are not California. Look it up, Colorado is even spelled differently than California. Good luck with your business model of pettiness and perhaps a little bit of laziness too.

    1 month ago
    • MoneyShot

      They did it to piss off potential voters, like yourself, in hopes of getting the laws reversed.

      3 weeks ago
      • Jdowski666

        Exactly correct my friend

        1 week ago
  • SGT R

    PSA is trash. I've had a "new" upper arrive with noticeable wear and tear, as well as, several components never arrive. It took the company over a month to resolve either issue.

    2 months ago
  • Old Sergeant Major

    I bought 1 16" chrome lined barrel upper with standard front site post and basic hand guard about 6 years ago and paired it with a blemished lower. I got the 2 halves, 6 aluminum magazines, a case, and 1000 rounds of ammo for... Less than $1000. I had to wait about 4 weeks on shipping but since the world didn't end during that time, no biggie. I put a Bushnell ar 1x4 optic on it that I got from PSA later for $87 dollars. 87. This "entry level" rifle is better than anything the army ever handed to me. Last month, I bought another PSA. This is a stainless 16" pencil barrel, mlok free floating hand guard, mid length had system. Again, another solid rifle. Came with Magpul mbus front and rear...total cost, $490. So, I bristle at the term "entry level." These are capable rifles. Would spec ops be able to thrive with these? I certainly hope so. My old statement "if you can't shoot pool with the bar cue, you can't shoot." But I wouldn't call these " bar cue" ARs where the weight is rattling around and you have to deal with the condom tips... These are "work truck"ARs . They do the job without the snob. If you wanna be a PX Ranger, PSA prolly isn't for you. If you want a solid, reliable firearm that you aren't afraid of beating up, PSA is the ticket.

    4 months ago
    • Riley Townsend

      PSA is America's Armory!

      3 weeks ago
  • John

    P.P.S. I am purchased a PSA upper so I have no problem with PSA and I likewise have no concern about the materials because steel is not a religion to me and I am more concerned with manufacturing methods, heat treat and surface finish than any absolute dogma relating to numbers printed on a sheet of white paper as much can be missed when looking just at number's! Kind of like looking at MSDS sheets and thinking you know everything that must be known after looking at one! LOL

    4 months ago
  • John

    Why would anyone want Carpenter 158 steel when they can have 9310 steel? Milspec is just a well defined standard and it is a minimum. Milspec is meant to be a standard not an absolute everything is worse, equal to or better than milspec. I spent 23 years witht he Army and I am well aware of both the good and the bad of "Milspec"! 4140 and 4150 steel is not the best steel to use in the manufacture of barrels it is the lowest common denominator and anyone not aware of that is either ignorant or poorly informed in the world of steels. Finding anything other than 4140, 4150 and 416R is difficult though in the USA especially! That is why they had to use surface treatments. Steel has moved on but government standards have not kept pace in this regard. Outside of the USA you will find that many nations like to add in some nickle, silicon or vanadium at the very least. In point of fact the Milatary is also huge on CHF barrels while 99% of the shooting public in America think CHF barrels are in league with SATAN and only Button Rifled Barrels can be accurate. So fact vs popular belief do not always reflect science and truth! Cheer's! -John

    4 months ago
  • wheels

    Looking to purchase my first AR and this was very helpful in forming an informed decision and at the same time not costing me an arm and a leg. Many thanks!

    5 months ago
  • Steve

    Awesome review. Thanks for the guidance!

    5 months ago
  • Greybeard Gunner

    I bought a pair of the 5.56 16" mid-length free float uppers and a pair of the PSA lowers with the boron upgrade trigger, one for me and one for the better half, largely on the strength of this review. I have about 400 rounds through each of them now. Mine got two FTF jams in the first two mags and smoothed out since. I got one more last weekend but I suspect a poorly loaded magazine as it was a double feed. Hers got one FTF jam on the first mag, none since. The triggers are still gritty, but better than they were. I think they'll smooth out with some more use as well. The first time I cleaned mine I had the receivers separated and dumped the trigger like an idiot, neatly shearing the paddle on the bolt release. Got a new part in 4 days from PSA-- shipping was more than the part but the local Cabelas was out of stock-- and fixed it in 5 minutes. Time for some BAD levers, I'm thinking. I am currently running them uncleaned to get 500 rounds through each, see if they'll lock up. Mine wears a UTG 3-9x40 and at 100 yards-- longest range conveniently available-- I can get 1-1.5MOA from the bench all day long; about double that off hand. Not all that bad for an old pharte with arthritis and failing vision. I'm using 62gr ammo (Remington UMC) as that was on sale at Lucky Gunner when I bought them, and suits the 1:7 twist rate in the barrels. I now have enough brass handy to make it worthwhile firing up the Dillon 650, and am planning to mush up some 55gr fuel. I think the groups will spread a bit, but we'll see. Hers is wearing a Sightmark red/green dot reflex with a 3x flip-up. She was worried about the zombie apocalypse or a civil war or something, so I got her combat sights. She hates them, though, so she usually shoots mine (until the Nikon 3-9 comes in and I can install it) and I've been shooting hers. Even with the red dot I can hold minute of bad guy at 100 yards, meaning on the paper with NRA 100yd smallbore targets. I am expecting performance similar to my rifle when I get a better long range optic on it. On the whole, I am highly pleased and echo the review; I can recommend them to anyone with a clear conscience. A top drawer 3-gun machine it is not, but it goes bang when you step on the gas, and is about as accurate as most people can shoot. Milspec grade, yes... but milspec is good enough for the Army, and not bad at all, at all.

    7 months ago
  • William Moore

    Eric, I already have a PSA lower. Do you have any experience putting BCM 12.5" upper with the PSA lower? Just curious if I should stick with PSA or Daniel Defense for upper or if BCM would config well. thanks

    9 months ago
  • Gunnerboy76

    Worse customer service twice on Fernedo road Columbia Sc yesterday went to store ask manager about the PSK 47 GEN 2 HE DIDN'T EVEN KNOW WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT OK 3 YEARS AGO MY WIFE AND I WATCHED FROM THE GUN COUNTER AS EMPLOYEES TALKED ON CELL PHONES AS WE WAITED FOR SERVICE FINALLY I PO PAYED MORE AT SPORTSMAN'S WEARHOUSE 1/2MILE DOWN THE ROAD FOR OUR GLOCK PALMETTO STATE ARMORY IS THE WORST PLACE FOR VETERANS TO BUY GUNS #GOLFCOMPANY #USMC SECOND BATTALION RECRUIT training

    10 months ago
  • Joshua Stein

    Any update on the wylde barrel? Any more testing?

    1 year ago
    • mike s

      i bought an spr upper about 2 years back. I've had nothing but greatness from it. I hand roll m262 mod 0 for it. 75gr hornady bthp match over 24.5gr of h4895. 1.5 or solid moa all day long if i do my job. I've got old eyes and only a 3x9 nikon. Took it out to 400 once with the same above ammo and no dope to use on it. Even with that, I hit steel 4 out of 10 times. Could barely see the target. Now that i've got the stuff chrono'd and know the scope better, I think my score would improve.

      5 months ago
    • Eric Hung

      Only a little...I want to get a few hundred more before doing groups again.

      11 months ago
      • Justin Klumker

        I just bought their Wylde kit! Looks like the same upper you reviewed. I'm excited to get it and try it out!

        8 months ago
        • Jonathan K

          I bought the .223 wylde upper referred to above and with my handloads I can repeatedly get .75 MOA. Even my plinking reloads are typically .9-1.2 MOA. It's disappointing that your upper fared so poorly during initial testing. Mine has been a tack driver. Let us know if you have the time to break it in some more and do another set of testing!

          6 months ago
  • Bobbt t

    Have a 7.62 psa upper shoots .75 to 1..25 groups at 100yrds....1000 rounds through it and 1 fail to fire..i use a p308 scope.....have the 556 freedom kit on a runner runner lower with a sparc red dot.1000 rnds plus,not 1 issue at all and will shoot the dot all day at 100.fun and inexpensive.i would definately use them again.rather build 3 or 4 decent ars than have 1 high end 1..thanks for that 223 review.....

    1 year ago
  • Owen

    Have a PSA 18 .223 Wylde 1:7 in 4150 vs stainless that shoots MOA with IMI m855 62 grain, maybe you have an off barrel. It's picky and does not like 55 grain at all, but heavier rounds stabilize well.

    1 year ago
    • Sora

      I also have the PSA .223 Wylde 1:7 18" in 416R stainless with free float. It does not like 55 grain. I shot them in-door at 10 yards! I think it's best to avoid the 55 gr with that. I'll have to see how it does with 62 gr and heavier/longer bullets when I get a chance at outdoor.

      9 months ago
  • Brian

    The products are good, just beware of customer service. An item ordered went on sale (past the 24 hour period) but even before the item shipped, and they would not refund the difference ($30) I was told to fill out an RMA when I finally get the upper and order another. I won't bother - with a customer not being worth $30 - I'll return in and go with another supplier.

    1 year ago
    • Hey-Who

      PSA's so called customer service = Complete DOG-SHIT!!!!

      9 months ago
  • Connor H

    Would you be able to do a review on PSA’s AR-10 sometime in the future? I have several PSA AR-15s, and they’ve been reliable and accurate, and have been looking at their .308/6.5CM rifles but they seem to have much more hit and miss feedback than their AR-15 line. I would be interested in a thorough review by PewPew. They actually run a little cheaper than stock DPMS rifles, but with a lot of upgrades included. The high cost has kept me away from AR-10s thus far, but this might be a great budget way to enter the field.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Connor...you're in luck! I have a .308 and 6.5 in my safe. Review should be out in a month or so. 224 Valkyrie too!

      1 year ago
      • Connor H

        Terrific, thank you so much. I’ll be keeping an eye out for the reviews on all 3. In my region (swampy southeastern NC) it’s hard to find a place to shoot past 400-500 yards, but the 224 Valk still seems like an interesting and well thought out cartridge. As illustrated in your article, the hype train stops for no one. ;D

        1 year ago
  • Evan

    Thank you, this is refreshing. I'm so frustrated by the trend in the gun community to see who can outspend each other. Boutique manufacturers seem to be a dime a dozen without much rhyme or reason. We constantly tout the AR platform as a "modern sporting rifle" but in house it's a war machine upon which freedom depends and any penny pinching is reckless if not treasonous. We're saved from answering for this hypocrisy by the public at large being relatively clueless about firearms generally. I have no doubt in the quality of the parts made by many of the leading companies, but I struggle to find justification for the price tags. PSA and others offer a dependable and affordable weapon that meets the demands of average consumers and I'm embarrassed when I see weekend warriors shaming their customers with an Aero slung around their tactical muffin tops. Please do a follow up on the .223 Wylde. I stumbled on your post while specifically looking for the accuracy and reliability of this barrel because I have it in a current build. I'd be interested to any changes, good or bad.

    1 year ago
    • David

      We're keep shooting all of the rifles and updating with round counts as we go, dont worry!

      1 year ago
  • Tony A.

    I have 4 Daniel Defense and 4 PSA ARs. For the money you can't beat the PSA AR, especially the PSA uppers with the FN CHF barrels (these are my favorite). They are all amazing. I usually buy the upper and lower off of their Daily Deal section where they are on sale at very low cost. And I usually run a BCM BCG for extra reliability. I agree with everything you've said above. Their Nitride finish is a little too gritty but for the cost.. Even Battlefield Vegas, a full-auto gun rental range experience in Las Vegas uses some PSA uppers with the CHF barrels and has had very good things to say about them, and they are running very, very high round counts through them, in full-auto! So they would know. Mr. Gunsngear - Battlefield Vegas Visit & Extreme Round Count Failure Points (AR-15, AK-47s, 1911s, Glocks, etc): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PApRcRE-ft8 AR endurance findings, at a rental range (PSA is mentioned in this article) http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2015/09/08/ar-endurance-findings-at-a-rental-range/

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks for the helpful links!

      1 year ago
  • Preferred Customer

    The lottery aspect of PSA is part of the fun. You can put your email on a list for out of stock products. If you're in a hurry to build anything, you're doing it wrong. Often during the wait I change my mind a few times regarding other components. Whenever I'm considering a build, Palmetto State Armory is my first mouse-click.

    1 year ago
  • Jim M.

    Shopping at PSA is like playing bingo! I DO appreciate that you can request email notifications when parts you're looking for are restocked. I must say, I use their polished trigger kit on one build, and for $30 it's a decent step up from standard mil spec "grit." Over all I like and recommend PSA.

    1 year ago
  • Tracey Graham

    We’ve built 3 PSA ARs. They’re fun to shoot, easy to build and have been very reliable. I’m more of a pistol guy, and only recently (when California said I couldn’t) started getting into ARs. They perform well enough for me to turn in decent scores at America’s Rifle Challenge.

    1 year ago
  • Monte Walsh

    For no particular reason I bought PSA’s 300 Blackout dissipator upper last year. I switched the flat top to an A2 upper receiver with Axelson bcg. Had an extra Bushmaster lower with A1 stock. The lpk was also from Axelson. Using a standard Military zeroing target the weapon zeroed in 6 shots @ 30 meters!! I’ve witnessed some pretty good shooting by people using “budget” weapons. As always, great article.

    1 year ago
  • Scott

    I have high end AR’s and mid range. Ordered a 7.5 inch upper from PSA will be here tomorrow. That said you cannot beat PSA prices for what you get. I have used their BCG’’s and a little soaking in quality lube and they are good to go. Prices on ammo beat all with free shipping. Part of my morning routine is to check PSA daily deals and Primary Arms. Pays off in big savings if you are patient. Companies like PSA are needed. Just remember you push the buy button they hold you to it. Accidentally bought two of their premium BCG’s and tried to correct it within minutes and no can do. In hindsight glad I got both for a wooping 79 buck each. No complaints here

    1 year ago
    • Connor H

      Haha I check their daily deals section every day when I wake up. It’s addictive.

      1 year ago
  • Jeff

    Another great article! My first build was a complete PSA 8.5" upper, Aero Precision lower, KAK Shockwave and a Vortex Sparc AR red dot (which came with 10 30rnd Pmags). I also added a flashlight and crosstac sling. I've put about 500 rounds through it. Zero malfunctions, very decent accuracy and all in price was about $700 (that also includes 3 20rnd Pmags).

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks so much Jeff! I hope to try one of their shorties soon too.

      1 year ago
  • George

    With no knowledge/experience with rifles and AR-15's, I bought a PSA Freedom rifle with some "upgrades", magpul furniture in FDE for about $450. It's a great rifle for self-defense use (I need a red dot for it), is reliable, decent trigger, etc. Friends and neighbors think it's a pretty good AR, especially for the price. I haven't shot it any further than 25 yds., but I'm confident in my family's safety with it in my house

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks, George! It definitely is great for the price.

      1 year ago
  • Notalima

    Before I started only building my own ARs from parts, I had used several PSA uppers ranging from 16" FN CHF 4150, 16" FN 410SS CHF, 20" FN 410SS CHF, and 16" 'Premium' versions. My shooting group of friends has around 20+ PSA uppers between the group members (mostly FN CHF 4150, and FN 410SS CHF, a few of their .223Wylde 410SS units, and a couple 416R 16"). As a group we've never had a return or function issue that wasn't related to break-in. Several have been out to Front Sight's 2 and 4 day 'Practical' and 'Skill Builder' courses (we live within an hour's drive of Front Sight so its easy to get there) and not had issues with their builds during those courses (and you'll definitely find 'weak builds' during those classes, heh) All have been between reasonable and excellent in accuracy (the 410SS units being the top of the pile easily capable of sub-moa with a good skill and good ammo). There have been a few instances of 'assembly issues'. Loose hand guards, an tilted FSB, and a few other minor and easily-remediated issues, but it does speak to a need for improved QA at PSA. Since I build all my own now I've sold or given my PSA uppers to friends and family and they've continued to have good use of them. That said, I have no issues in recommending PSA for an affordable and competent build. New shooters on a budget can trust PSA for an affordable, reliable solution. Heh, and wait times are way, way down from their peaks after Sandy Hook, but you'll often still wait a week for uppers to ship. Its a PSA thing. If you've ordered from them over the years its just part of doing business with them.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Nice, thanks for vouching with 20+ uppers!

      1 year ago
  • Mike McAllister

    Thanks for a great artical! I have three PSA uppers (5.56 16", 7.62 16" and .22LR 16"). I have had not problems with any of them! I also built two Anderson lowers with PSA complete lower kits, which were very easy to build, with some help from the internet. The two things I see the most on the internet is a dislike for PSA and Anderson. Either I'm very lucky or the complaints are total hog wash. Then again a lot of the builders on the internet think that if you don't spend $2000+ it's not a real AR. I use many types of mags on the 5.56, but only use C Product mags for the 7.62. As a side note I went with a .22lr upper instead of a conversion because of the proper twist in the barrel and I've see where the conversion can mess up the gas tube on your 5.56. All I can say about the .22lr is that it is more fun than the law allows!!! Ammo is 1/10 the price and I still get to use the same lower. The grandson loves it too. Thanks again for a great artical.

    1 year ago
    • Connor H

      Is your 7.62 a x39 or x51? Either way, how’s the reliability and is it over gassed at all? I’ve heard their .308/7.62x51 uppers are often very overgassed, and haven’t heard anything about the 7.62x39, but know that they (AR 7.62x39 uppers) often have mag/feeding reliability issues. Looking at both, let me know how yours has performed.

      1 year ago
      • Eric Hung

        Hey Connor, mine is the 7.62x51 and it's probably overgassed...but no reliability issues on my end so far. Looking to test it some more and have a review out by the end of the month. Haven't had the chance to try out any x39 ARs.

        1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're so welcome, Mike and thanks so much for your input. I too love my poverty ponies (Anderson) and now PSA.

      1 year ago
  • Patrick

    Interesting, i have a 18" 223 wylde barrel from PSA as well, i got fantastic grouping with everything from 55-77gr. I was shocked by how well it shot. Easily MOA for me, but perhaps i just got lucky.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks for your input, Patrick. Looks like it might be luck of the draw since both David and I didn't get the most accuracy Wylde barrels.

      1 year ago
  • David Underwood

    Maybe I missed it but do you think that maybe the .223 Wylde barrel might like a little heavier bullet? I know the federal is a 77 grain but in your opinion what do you think?

    1 year ago
    • David

      It might help but Eric's test reflects my own experience with PSA's Wylde 18" upper also. I tested my upper across about 10 different ammo types in every weight from 55gn to 77gn, never got better than around 2 MOA. Great plinking/2-gun/3-gun/training rifles though.

      1 year ago
New to Guns ? Check out our beginners guns video course. Start Now