USCCA Review [2019]: Why I Chose It & Comparison

Wow, there’s a lot of CCW insurance providers now.

And like you…I wanted to make sure I had the best.

I feel it’s one of those things that if you really need it…you want to make sure you have the best.

USCCA Membership
USCCA Membership

Well…I guess there’s my seal of approval!

Read on to learn more about why I chose USCCA and how they compare to other insurance companies such as NRA’s Carry Guard (now defunct, more info down below).

August 2019 Update: Still a paying member!  And USCCA reached out to me to offer you guys Pew Pew Tactical’s online beginner pistol course for free ($67 value).  Details at the bottom.

November 2019 Update: I also now cover the three states where USCCA is not currently active (NY, NJ, & WA).

Table of Contents

Loading...

What Exactly is Concealed Carry & Self Defense Insurance

I only became aware of the entire concept of concealed carry insurance earlier this year after USCCA gave out free t-shirts at SHOT show.  I would have forgotten…but their emails do not let you forget.

So Many Emails
So Many Emails

But hey…super effective since I ended up buying the insurance and writing this article!

So what exactly is this kind of insurance?

Basically…if you defend yourself with a gun (or other weapon), you’re going to be in a big mess…even if it was justified.

Insurance comes in to help with bail, civil/criminal defense, lost wages, etc.

Chances are you’ll never have to use it.

But if you’re carrying…there’s that slight possibility.  And we’ve all seen what happens to people who go on trial for self-defense (It’s Not the Odds, It’s the Cost).

And it’s not a pretty sight.

At least now you might not have to go into bankruptcy and wreck your family.

Pricing

Next thought I had was…ok, so there’s that slight possibility of a world of hurt…how much does it cost to alleviate it and protect my loved ones?

*Update October 2017: They have updated their protection levels to Gold, Platinum, and Elite.

USCCA has 3 tiers of protection:

  1. Gold (Up to $600,000 in protection) at $22/month
  2. Platinum (Up to $1,150,000 in protection) at $30/month
  3. Elite (Up to $2,225,000 in protection) at $47/month

Not bad…at least at the lowest tier.  That’s like two boxes of 9mm a month.

Next up, let’s see what you really get.

What You Get in USCCA’s Self Defense Shield

I’m not some insurance pro, and if you’re in the market for this stuff always do your own research and read the actual fine print for whatever insurance product you end up getting.

Let’s walk through each of these using the Platinum plan (since it’s closest to the NRA plan):

USCCA Plans, as of 10/17/2017
USCCA Plans, as of 10/17/2017
  • $1,000,000 in Civil Suit Defense, Civil Suit Damages, Firearm Theft
    • What they’ll pay up to in civil cases
  • $150,000 in Criminal Defense Protection
    • Up-front payment (important) for attorney’s retainer
  • $25,000 / $250,000 Bail Bonding
    • The asterisk says “Reflects 10% of the face amount of the bond.  For example, $25,000 reflects a $250,000 bond.
    • It’s my understanding you’ll only get 10% of the bond (whatever it is), and only up to $25,000 which would mean a $250,000+ bond.
  • Hardship, Psychology Support, & Compensation
    • Costs to help with what happens due to the incident and court proceedings

Let me know if I goofed anywhere too!

Cunningham's Law
Cunningham’s Law

Still with me?

USCCA Self Defense Shield vs NRA Carry Guard

August 2019 Update: NRA Carry Guard is now shutdown due to several investigations and lawsuits.  I’m leaving this as legacy since it still covers tons of the pros, but otherwise you can scroll down to where we compare USCCA vs others still running.

It’s insurance right?

So I definitely compared the rates and coverage vs some other guys.  In this case I went with the 2nd biggest (or at least 2nd best marketed) player…the NRA’s Carry Guard.

I always knew NRA had some insurance program…that wasn’t the greatest according to almost everyone.

But its new Carry Guard made a big splash…but not for being revolutionary.  But for how NRA dis-invited USCCA from its 2017 Annual Meeting where they announced their new insurance.

NRA Kickout
NRA Kickout, TheFirearmBlog

Not the classiest thing…but I can understand the business behind it.

How do the two compare (USCCA Platinum vs NRA Gold)?

USCCA vs NRA Comparison, Updated July 2017
USCCA vs NRA Comparison, Updated July 2017

Let’s break down the big points in my opinion:

  • Price: $30/month or $347/year (USCCA) vs $31.95/month or $359/year (NRA)
    • First thing that bothers me is that you save peanuts when you go for a year…so I signed up for monthly myself.  Second, they are roughly the same for all their different levels.  Slight Edge to USCCA.
  • How Much Protection: $1,150,000 (USCCA) vs $1,000,000 (NRA)
    • Pretty close too for their respective tiers.  Looks like USCCA’s $1,000,000 civil is added plus its criminal while NRA’s is lumped together.  Edge to USCCA.
  • Criminal Defense Payout Method: 100% up front (USCCA) vs 20% up front and 80% if not guilty (NRA)
    • This is a BIGGIE!
    • You’ll get 150K up front from USCCA for criminal defense while only 20% of $150K from NRA which only equals $30K.  Anything else you’ll have to pony up yourself.  And you won’t get anything else if you’re found guilty!  I’m all for punishing the actually guilty but that sucks…especially when USCCA doesn’t have that caveat.
    • Big Edge to USCCA.
  • Types of Weapons Covered: Legal weapons (USCCA) vs firearm only (NRA)
    • Another big one…USCCA will cover legal weapons such as knives, fists, bats, etc. while NRA is only your firearm.  I don’t carry my gun much but will carry other things, so this one was as big factor.
    • Edge to USCCA
  • Spousal Coverage: Yes for both, but USCCA is only inside the home.
    • For a while there was some discussion on whether it applied for NRA but now it seems it is indeed covered.
    • For USCCA you can add on your same coverage for your spouse for as low as $77/year based on your plan.  That means everywhere in the US.
    • Previous edge to NRA since it has protection for your spouse outside of the home.  But now goes to USCCA because of the awesome bargain to add on your spouse for your same coverage.
Mr. and Mrs. Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Smith
  • Attorney Network: All over 50 states (USCCA) vs no (NRA)
    • I’m mixed over this one since on one hand I’d like to know that there’s firearms attorneys ready to help…but I’m also afraid they might not be the best.  I like the option of having both.
    • Edge to USCCA.
  • Training: Yes to both.
    • I didn’t really research that much into this…but it looks like USCCA has some videos while NRA has it coming soon.  However, it does seem like NRA has in-person classes…but having their insurance might not be a prerequisite and you have to pay.
    • Remains to be seen…but edge to USCCA for having it up already.

Again, let me know if things have changed…yet again.

USCCA vs Others

Other Insurance Providers
Other Insurance Providers

I know a bunch of you are thinking right now…but I’ve got [other kind of CCW protection], how does it compare?!?

I tried going down the rabbit hole but got really lost.  I’ll leave it to you to research more.

Here’s some of the ones I’ve found.

  • CCW Safe: Technically not insurance but provides protection in the form of covering your legal defense with their team.
  • Armed Citizens Legal Defense Network: A membership program where you pay into a fund that will pay your legal expenses.
  • Second Call Defense: Pretty similar numbers but the up-front attorney retainer is lower (max is $10k).
  • Texas Law Shield: They have a network of their own attorneys across TX and some other states…but aren’t everywhere.  And they found themselves in some hot water with a class action suit.

Do your homework!

*Update* My lawyer buddy helped me go through a couple of the other guys in a Concealed Carry Insurance Comparison article.

But here’s my thoughts on why I chose USCCA.

Why I Eventually Chose USCCA

  1.  It was the most well-known to me.  And the whole NRA thing had me rooting for the underdog.
  2.  Pretty much same price as NRA but with slightly more in overall protection.
  3.  Up front criminal defense protection instead of less up front and the rest only when you’re acquitted.
  4.  Ability to be covered with all legal weapons.
  5. Covered my wife at home which is all she needs.  She doesn’t carry out of the house…but the ability to add her on for $77/year is a great perk.
  6.  Attorney network + ability to choose my own.  Some of the other ones you’re forced to use their network.

Some Negatives

I’m very glad to not have actually used the insurance.  But off the bat there’s a flurry of emails.  So be ready for that…but it’s something that’s easily remedied with an unsubscribe.

Also, the tone of the videos and ads that now I’m bombarded on other sites (thanks retargeting) is always a scare tactic.

I get it!

USCCA Disallowed States

2019 has been a turbulent year with several states trying to stop self-protection insurance companies.  Here’s some of the official wording from USCCA regarding them.

New York

“Unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond our control the USCCA is currently unable to sell memberships in the State of New York. We are actively searching for a membership option that will be acceptable in NY.”

New Jersey

“On Sept 10, the governor of New Jersey, Phil Murphy, signed an executive order directing New Jersey’s Department of Banking and Insurance to prohibit or limit the sale of insurance products that encourage the improper use of firearms.”

USCCA is still working through the system since they technically aren’t insurance and I’m not sure how its product is encouring the “improper use of firearms.”  I’ll update if I get more news but right now new subscriptions and renews are suspended.

Washington

“The USCCA has reached a resolution with State of Washington Insurance Commissioner’s Office.  The USCCA is currently not selling any new USCCA memberships in Washington.  The USCCA is diligently working on a membership delivery structure that is acceptable to the Washington Insurance Commissioner’s Office.  The USCCA is hopeful that in the very near future we will be able to present the Washington Insurance Commissioner’s Office with a membership delivery model that will be acceptable so that citizens of the State of Washington can enjoy the many benefits of USCCA membership.”

Conclusion

I ended up with the cheapest Silver monthly plan from USCCA (now a legacy plan).  Check out all of them here.

And that’s because I know there’s the very small chance of me needing it, and I don’t carry most of the time anyways.  But I do like how it covers both my wife and me in the house.  And if she ever decides to carry out outside…it’s only $77/year (for the Gold).

What’s your take on CCW insurance…do you have USCCA or another one?

Special USCCA Offer

If you use my link to sign up, USCCA will cover your tuition for our $67 Gun Noob Beginner Pistol Course.  And that’s ANY plan…even if you go monthly.

Now you’ll have piece of mind and a great refresher (or intro) course on safe pistol handling.  You’ll get an email with a special code 2-3 weeks after join the USCCA family.

163 Leave a Reply

  • Mike Rehmus

    These guys have too many restrictions. It is easy to go over their coverage limits with a trial. Think of the Zimmerman acquittal at $1.7 million. And if he had had a mistrial and the prosecutor decided to go after him a second or third time, he'd have run out of coverage with these guys. That's why I picked CCW Safe who have no limits on defending you in criminal and civil courts. These guys are in the middle of a lawsuit where they decided not to cover one of their clients. Way to pushy for me. Free guns every day? Who is paying for them? Their customers.

    1 week ago
  • Pat Knight

    Great article. I signed up immediately and am very happy I did. Thanks.

    2 weeks ago
  • BC

    I just joined uscca but unfortunately did not see this site first. I went with the elite annual plan For 150$ more per year it basically doubled the coverage I decided to go to the max since I reside in CA and own 2 small businesses. To much to lose not to spend the extra 150$. My hope is I will never have to use/test it. But like any insurance you only need it when you need it

    2 weeks ago
  • Fritzi Piper

    Just signed up for the USCCA through the link - hope the noob offer is still valid

    1 month ago
  • bill

    too pricey and limited coverage, Texas/US Law Shield better in my opinion

    1 month ago
  • Jen

    I joined using the link... hope the noob offer is still valid. How does that work?

    2 months ago
  • Richard H in Vegas

    Great update to the original. I actually picked up USCCA when you published the original article and have never felt bad about my decision. I have however, wondered if you still used them or still felt the same way about their covereage, so a great update to this article. I am still with USCCA and am actually about to add the wife who just recently picked up her CCW. As always, thanks for the great research and comparative work that you guys do for the rest of us!

    2 months ago
  • M. Texan

    I rock with USCCA as well. I maxed out with the Platinum tier. Love the helpful tips and seemingly endless educational resources. I feel a certain peace of mind knowing they can help me navigate through the legal minefield should a SD situation occur

    2 months ago
    • M. Texan

      My mistake, I meant the ELITE tier

      2 months ago
  • armed citizen

    Eric: Good article. I was surprised that you rarely carry a firearm so you must live in Kalifornia! I would suggest that you move to a constitutional carry state, or at least a state where it is easy and inexpensive to get a concealed handgun license. Never leave home or be in your home without immediate access to your firearm, as your life and the lives of your loved ones are at risk! Train like you will have to use your pistol and long gun, and hope that they will never be needed!!!

    3 months ago
  • dana spratt

    can you get gun insurance for just at home protection as i don't carry but have at home

    3 months ago
    • Larry McArthur

      I have the same question plus. Can I get home protection in California and am I protected if I am carrying my gun to the range legally in the trunk of my car and take it out to defend myself or my family?

      2 months ago
    • David, PPT Editor

      USCCA covers in the home as well as when you CC!

      3 months ago
  • Scoutsout

    Sad that one needs "self defense" insurance. What's next? Criminal insurance?

    4 months ago
  • Matt P

    So, went to sign up with USCCA, but got as far as putting in my address. Turns out they can’t start new policies if you live in New York.

    4 months ago
  • Jorge Barake

    I've been a Gold member of USCCA since May 2019. What happens if it is determined that you acted in self-defense and it takes a long time to get your firearm back or never do from the police? Anyone knows?

    5 months ago
    • Matt

      USCCA will reimburse you up to the Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price of your gun if it appears it will not be returned.

      4 months ago
    • Rockie Broaddus

      I am retired LEO but have been out of it 20+ years. Used to be that police did not return confiscated weapons until ordered to / released from evidence by the a judge. I know that you can incur resistance in that regard from police departments but that usually stems from past experience with you and means that they may be petitioning the judge for a different action, It is a judge that will restrict or delay the return of your firearm in such cases that you were not convicted of whatever the offence was that the firearm was taken.

      4 months ago
  • Brian Warsh

    Eric, I "think" you got most of it right but I am a little confused about your comments RE: Bail Bonds. In the article you explain that ... $25,000 / $250,000 Bail Bonding The asterisk says “Reflects 10% of the face amount of the bond. For example, $25,000 reflects a $250,000 bond.“ It’s my understanding you’ll only get 10% of the bond (whatever it is), and only up to $25,000 which would mean a $250,000+ bond. What does the + mean? If the maximum coverage is 10% for a $250,000 Bond you're capped @ $25,000. If I got this wrong please forgive me, otherwise, could you please clear this up for me.

    5 months ago
    • Rockie Broaddus

      I don't mean to speak for him but just putting in my 2 cents from experience. Retired PD. It means what he said, you are capped at $25,000 which is 10% of the 250,000 and the + means you are on the hook / responsible for the additional 10% of what ever that + is.

      4 months ago
  • Wesley Long

    "... peace of mind ..."

    6 months ago
  • Scott Norquest

    I have live in VA and I use USlawshield/ Texaslawshield. I haven't had to use it but it's a huge relief knowing I have it. You can add your spouse and children in the home for extra fees also includes all 50 states for a small extra fee, also has that coverage as well for an extra option. I bought my year of coverage which is actually 14 months but I had not heard of the class action suit against them. I may have to switch to USCCA when my coverage expires unless they somehow redeem themselves.

    7 months ago
  • Michael Cull

    USCCA is no longer available in Washington State. They informed me of this last month. It ended in the middle of March. This sucks, as I am a lifetime member. I am looking for a replacement for myself til I get moved out of Washington State in a couple of years.

    7 months ago
  • Robert Jones

    I read up on this for way too long. I compared the cheapest plans from six companies and like these two best: 1. CCW Safe for the best value and a few more features: - $149/year for “ccw and police/military, active/retired”; $179 same for “ccw-only” -- scroll down: https://ccwsafe.com/permit-plans. - Only company to include spouse and children under 18 when defending themselves inside your house (NRA Carry Guard covers spouse); additional fee for others. - Only company to cover all of bail bond, up to $500,000. Others pay only the “premium” to the bond (Court may require collateral to cover remainder), generally, 10%, up to: -- $25,000 for both Armed Citizens (LDN), and NRA Carry Guard, -- $2,500 for USCCA; $5,000 for Second Call Defense, -- US Law Shield does not cover bail. - Only this company and US Law Shield offer “No Limit” on both criminal and civil defense. -- No limit - criminal / No limit - civil for CCW Safe, and US Law Shield, -- $50,000 - criminal / $500,000 - civil for Second Call Defense, -- $50,000 - criminal / $250,000 - civil for both NRA Carry Guard, and USCCA, -- initial $25,000* – criminal / initial $25,000* – civil for Armed Citizens (LDN). *after this limit, their board reviews case and allows more if there is “reasonable self-defense” (see next below) - Only company to specifically state they cover appeals, expungements, and have a “critical response team come to your location” for booking, etc. 2. Armed Citizens (LDN) for the best value and educational materials: - $135 first year, $95 year thereafter - DVDs, textbook, etc. These journals are free, 12/year going back 10 years: https://armedcitizensnetwork.org/en/our-journal - *the $25,000/$25,000 plan seems reasonable. I can’t confirm, but their policy may be to spend up to $400,000. All insurers will stop payment as soon as defendant “pleads guilty” or there is a conviction. Armed Citizen appears to be checking mid-way to see if you have a chance of being innocent. NRA writes, “Be wary of any provider that claims to offer full criminal defense coverage funding up front: not only is this unnecessary, but such policies would be void in the event of a conviction. Most criminal defense attorneys will not require payment of final bill until after your case ends—at which time the rest of your criminal defense protection is available if you were acquitted or the case was dismissed.” - Armed Citizen writes their members wanted bail bond protection (second best in this group) more than the extras provided by other companies (expert witness, firearm loss or confiscation during trial, compensation while in court, clean-up of house, psychological support). Their second year and beyond price is $95, much lower than CCW Safe price of $179 for ccw-only customers ($145 for ex-military/police).

    7 months ago
  • Sean Smiddy

    USCCA all day. The value is just there, plus they’re classier than the NRA Carry Guard jerks IMO. Seriously, although I do support the NRA, they’re late comers and we’re so rude to the USCCA it was ludicrous. Noobs to CC should check out the USCCA’s “Into the Fray” videos for sound training . Available on YouTube for free. Yes if you join you’ll get a lot of email but an unsubscribe can fix that.

    7 months ago
    • Clifford Schaffer

      The NRA concealed carry insurance program in NY was shut down by the insurance department for various violations and the people selling it had to pay millions of dollars in fines.

      7 months ago
  • Maxwell Lambert

    Hello, does USCCA cover members excursively when in the United States, or does their member coverage stretch into Canada/Europe. Thank you

    8 months ago
    • Clifford Schaffer

      I don't know for sure, but with all the legal issues that would be involved with that, I would bet NO.

      7 months ago
  • Clifford Schaffer

    I have some experience in the insurance industry and I know a number of people with long experience in the insurance industry. The general attitude of people that have been licensed to sell insurance could be characterized as "suspicion." They wonder what this insurance covers that would not be covered by other general liability insurance such as an umbrella liability policy. Here are some points to consider: The company itself Where is the company located? Are they located in one of the states that is tightly regulated, such as New York or California? Are they located in your state? There are good reasons to ask these questions. One is that they may not be able to pay their claims, or may simply refuse to pay their claims. If they refuse to pay your claim and they are 1,500 miles away with no regulator in your area that you can call on for help, what are you going to do? It is a good rule that you are far better off buying insurance from large, well-known companies that are registered with the insurance department to do business in your state. What does it cover? Criminal costs -- Insurance policies, by law, cannot provide coverage to pay your criminal defense attorney if you happen to commit a crime. The reasons should be obvious -- crime should not be rewarded. Therefore, if any company did guarantee to cover your criminal defense attorney, the only way they could legally do so is after you have been proven innocent. So, if you go to a jury trial, expect to pay for it yourself, whatever. Civil Liability -- These are payments to the person you injured. Assuming it was a good shoot, a regular liability policy should cover the claim. A CCW would provide no real benefit in this case unless perhaps the settlement went over your policy limits. Your homeowners insurance would probably be primary and the CCW policy would then only pay if your homeowners was maxed out. If that is your worry, then it is cheaper to increase the limits on your existing policy. What about the exclusions? If you haven't read the exclusions, and don't want to read them and understand them, then just send me your money for nothing right now and be done with it. The exclusions describe what they will NOT pay. That could be just about everything, or everything, depending on the situation. Discuss it with an experienced claims adjuster or attorney, because simple legal terms have big meanings. Turns out that most insurance policies exclude payments for "intentional acts". Talk to an attorney about whether shooting someone is an "intentional act" that would not be covered. The attorney may not be sure himself. Also remember that insurance policies are a "contract of adhesion". In legal terms, that means that you have no real right to negotiate the wording. Therefore, if there is any ambiguity in the wording, it will be ruled against the person who wrote the contract -- the insurance company. Therefore, exclusions are written with pretty solid legal language. Ignore them at your own peril. What's the price? The prices I have seen for CCW are about in the same range as what you would pay for an umbrella general liability policy with a million dollar limit that would cover you for all liability, not just liability arising out of a CCW incident. That is, you could get a lot more insurance coverage for the same money. Would I sell CCW insurance? When I first saw it, I did the math and figured out very quickly that, for the price, coverage, and risk of a claim, this is a better deal for the insurance company than travel insurance. Travel insurance is practically all profit. You collect the same money that the insurance companies get for a policy with much, much broader coverage, the number of claims should be somewhere around "tiny", the insured has to prove he is innocent before they pay anything, and he is in another state so his complaints about not getting paid go nowhere when he finally gets through with his jury trial. Mathematically speaking, it is a money machine. If I didn't have to worry about getting busted and losing my license for selling it, I would open the insurance company myself. It should be noted that the state of NY has shut down the NRA CCW program. In addition, the underwriters and agents on that program (all big companies) have agreed to pay millions of dollars in penalties. While the NRA complains that it is about gun rights, it isn't really. It's about questionable insurance products bordering on fraud. Anyone with experience in the insurance laws and any knowledge of how rates are set and claims are paid will tell you right away that there is something wrong with this picture. That's why the agents of the NRA program wound up agreeing to pay millions in fines. What's the odds of a CCW incident in your life? One fairly large online survey I saw said that the number of CCW holders who ever actually had to pull their weapon (not use it, just pull it) was somewhere around 2 percent, over their entire lives. Your mileage may vary. But I wouldn't buy any of them. I would get an umbrella liability policy over and above my auto and homeowners from a reliable company that I know will pay their claims for about the same money.

    8 months ago
    • Simple

      I thought the same thing. I have a $1 million personal liability with my homeowner's insurance policy, and think I will simply stick with that.

      1 second ago
    • biff

      tl;dr

      1 week ago
  • Bert

    Im a big fan of your site and really learned much in the past year of subscribing. Thank you. After much research I chose Self-Defense Fund. Straight up legal help to just get me put of trouble. No gun give aways or free crap. I could buy what I want with the money saved. Any thoughts?

    9 months ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hi Bert, we're going to be slowly adding more. The next up is CCW Safe. It takes a while since we do research and buy the coverage ourselves. But thanks for the rec!

      9 months ago
      • Roy D Salley

        I went with ACLN for the wrong reason, It was the lowest yearly coast. I understand about the emails!. I just open the web site and they started. They offered so much guns and many other things. I finally unsubscribed. I did buy there Concealed Carry magazine, It comes 4 times a year and it is a glossy quality magazine. I enjoy your articles on handguns and accessories I have a save folder for the ones I want to keep. The ones about ARs, precision rifles, and Tactical shotguns, I usually delete them!

        3 months ago
  • Luke

    The silver plan still exists. However, the gold plan is better for $2 more a month. However, the spouse plan increased from $47 to $147 dollars a year on the annual elite plan. You cannot obtain any more discounts other than this. Personally, I think this is unfortunate. The only other discount is a 10% discount for having served in law enforcement, govt service or military.

    9 months ago
    • k k

      Luke, that is incorrect. To add a spouse onto silver is not possible, Gold is $7mo or $77/year, Platinum is $9/mo or $97/year, and Elite is $13/mo or $147/year

      8 months ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks for that info on the spouse plan...I'll reconfirm and update.

      9 months ago
  • Michele

    Does USCCA no longer offer the Silver plan?

    9 months ago
    • Eric Hung

      It's a legacy one I believe.

      9 months ago
      • Joe P

        I had it for a year, but dropped it. I was tired of getting my email bombarded by USCCA trying to sell more stuff. I was getting multiple emails for day. It was truly annoying.

        8 months ago
  • Bob Williams

    The characterization of the coverage under the NRA Carry Guard is really not accurate. I've read the policy and it does not say there is no coverage if you are found or plead guilty. It just says that is where the obligation to pay for or reimburse defense costs ends. The policy covers everything (up to policy limits) up to the end of the case (but not including appeals). You say that the lack of coverage is a BIGGIE and its not accurate. This article really needs to be edited to fix this. Policies are complicated and discussing coverage when you don't have a law degree is, even with a disclaimer, not really doing folks a service. Please consider editing the article to be more accurate.

    10 months ago
    • Clifford Schaffer

      The state of NY has shut down the NRA program, at least in their state, and the underwriters and agents who were selling it have agreed to pay millions in penalties for violating various insurance laws and selling dubious policies. There are fundamental problems with the idea of offering CCW insurance in the first place.

      8 months ago
    • Bill madonna

      I don't know anything about insurance, but I do know business. I know enough that anything not spelled out in writing is something you will never see. If the NRA policy says "that's where our obligation ends", I can promise you....THAT is where their obligation will end. It would foolish to assume that if you are found guilty that the NRA is going to pay out the other 80% just because they think you're an "ok guy"

      9 months ago
      • Clifford Schaffer

        That goes double with insurance. Count on it. Anything that is ambiguous in an insurance policy is construed against the company. Therefore, they pay for anything they didn't say clearly. They cast those words in iron.

        8 months ago
  • Mark Bledsoe

    The unfortunate thing is at the end of the post appears to be your disclaimer... You close your post disclosing you provide video content for USCCA. This is where you seem to lose credibility as you state you provide video content for USCCA after membership purchase... Please explain...

    10 months ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hey Mark, great question. USCCA reached out after my unsolicited review and saw that Pew Pew Tactical offers a beginner gun course (created for our readers who wanted to get a beginner/refresher course on handgun safety). They thought it would be a great idea to cover the cost of the course for people.

      9 months ago
      • Guntrainer

        Maybe they should send them to thier own certified insurance salesmen er firearm instructors!

        9 months ago
  • Jerry Bolser

    I have been a Life Member of the NRA for over 20 years. I belong to USCCA for several years. I was under the impression that my spouse ( domestic partner) would need a separate full member ship. We both carry and have been together over 6+ years. When I contacted USCCA to upgrade, I was informed of my new cost per month. When asking about my partner I was told her membership would be covered for a small one time fee per year and I would receive a senior discount off the reg. cost. Whenever I call they are very friendly, knowledgeable and have all my answers. I would never change to Carry Guard or any other program. In addition the web site is user friendly and easy to navigate. Jerry

    11 months ago
  • Eric

    Eric, Great article but has anyone actually analyzed the avg cost of a "case" when someone is a shooter? I purchased the Platinum coverage and even called USCCA to ask them what was the cost of the "average case" when I was deciding. CS reps said they did not know but sure that someone at USCCA does as this is how the monthly/annual rate is set. CS Reps offered to give me some lawyers in the area to ask this question. Don't get me wrong as I think USCCA has lots of benefits to offer but I also would love to see the numbers. Your link to "cost" does not really cover cost so one could do a Cost-Benefit-Analysis against the risk. This is what USCCA has up on their web page: https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/the-cost-of-defense/

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hey Eric, I'm not super sure of the "average case" cost either since there are so many factors...location, lawyer choice, booking, etc.

      1 year ago
  • Delbert

    Just to understand , you have to bond yourself self out of jail and pay a retainer to an attorney. Basically, the same things in dealing with the courts now.

    1 year ago
  • walter mclaughlin

    Unfortunate that USCCA does not offer memberships in NRA. At least offer as an additional/

    1 year ago
  • Monte Walsh

    Eric, great job as always! I’m a member of both organizations. We use USCCA for CCW coverage and NRA for Instructor coverage. I wish USCCA would provide that as well, NRA quite frankly is pretty lame. I’ve received varied answers to coverage questions and they really danced around with answers to others.

    1 year ago
  • Steve

    I'm a USCCA Platinum member, Went with Texas Law Shield my first year, being from Texas & their plan's not bad. But after reviewing other insurers I switched to USCCA when it was time to renew my Texas Law Shield protection. I think it's the best deal out there, also. JMO. Hope I never have to use it.

    1 year ago
  • Dana Carlson

    You only give out the free lessons to FULL YEAR payor? Or do I at least get that access after paying all year on monthly?

    1 year ago
  • Charles

    Thank you Eric, I have been very pleased with USCCA since 2011, they have been pleasant to deal with. I do not see me changing ins at all, the magazines are of high quality from the beginning. I do have my wife added, I signed up after hearing about the company during our first visit to Pahrump, NV. PS I did hear the Law Schield people speak in about 2015 and they were nice folks, they made their coverage sound interesting.

    1 year ago
  • Randy Plunkett

    Very helpful article and information. Thought I would add to the discussion by including a link to a page that compares the top five companies. USSCA is the final column titled "Other Insurance Product. https://ccwsafe.com/page/quick-comparison-of-service

    1 year ago
  • Jim Coffman

    Eric: In the USCCA fine print located at https://www.usccacoverageform.com/, it states in: Section 1 – Coverages, 1.. Insuring Agreement, b. (2) Our right and duty to defend ends: (b) With the insured’s “conviction” of any criminal charge(s) So, it appears, like the NRA coverage, they stop paying for any services once a guilty conviction is arrived at. Thoughts?

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hey Jim, not a lawyer, but looks like it. Though at that point it might be the least of your worries!

      1 year ago
  • Splendor

    Thank you so much for this article. I'd be curious how those two listed compared to US Lawshield. I purchased US Lawshield insurance at the end of an IL CCW class when a rep came in to tell us all about their program. It was only $131.40 per year. I don't know if "you get what you pay for" holds true for this instance. US Lawshield didn't send me anything in the mail. The only thing I have to show that I'm covered is a card that was included in the sign-up flier. Their member portal is REALLY weak. I don't know; I think I may have gotten the wrong insurance for this year. I'm wondering if anybody who reads this has dealt with US Lawshield.

    1 year ago
    • Charles

      Eric, I edited to add some info about Law Shield and cannot get it to repost. Can you help?

      1 year ago
    • Charles

      Splendor, I do remember signing up with LS in about '14 or '15. Somehow my first payment got messed up and could never get it fixed, Your word weak does come to mind, I never could make a break through so I just stopped working on it and realized that USCCA was where I needed to stay. Seems that I remember that they press their members into service on building membership, may be that customer service is the same thing and not enough training and experience? I did get a nice double folder the day that I signed up with all sorts of info, I do not know if I got anything in the mail from them.

      1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks for sharing your experience, hopefully others will chime in too!

      1 year ago
  • Dean Harris

    I was working on an EPL membership, paying my quarterly $25 payments every three months. I got on my computer to make my next payment. My account on their website said I had a yearly membership, however on my previous payments my account clearly said EPL. I sent three e-mails, each about a week apart, asking them to fix the problem. I never heard back from them. The first e-mail was polite, the next two were i increasingly angry. After the third e-mail was sent, I checked to see if my status was fixed. Not only was it not fixed, my account was deleted. so this is how they handle there own screw ups. When the NRA bumped me down to yearly, my magazine subscription went from EPL to expiring a year and a half down the road. I gave up on these incompetent idiots after the third e-mail. A few months later I got to thinking about how they screwed me out of the EPL membership, I got mad all over again, I checked my e-mail to see if I got a response from them. Not one word. So I sent them an actual letter along with my membership card telling them what they can do with it and to never send any more literature whining for more money for a membership or for any other reason. My magazine subscription stopped 15 months earlier than what the printed address label on my latest magazine stated. They are constantly soliciting for memberships and donations so that they can continue the fight and they pull garbage like this. How are they going to continue if they keep screwing people over? I know I can't be the only one. If I could give zero stars to the NRA, I would. They certainly don't deserve even one star.

    1 year ago
  • Darren

    Interesting and great reaffirming article! I “had” the NRA Carry Guard insurance, however after the recent “fleeing” of certain companies from the NRA (including the underwriters for the Carry Guard insurance, Chubb) I am now a member of USCCA and couldn’t be happier, especially with the main points you highlighted in the article. Had a very close friend of mine get into the financial train wreck of having to deal with a self defense situation and he had and will continue to carry USCCA, he stated if it weren’t for them he would essentially be homeless right now.

    1 year ago
  • George

    NRA Member and I have the NRA carry guard insurance, but recent NYS Attorney General issue voided the insurance in NY State and at expiration the underwriter will not renew in NY State. Any comments about this would be appreciated. Does the NY State insurance rule apply to USCCA as well?

    1 year ago
    • James J Galu

      Well,does nys rule also apply to other ins.? Uscca?

      1 year ago
      • Inquiring Mind

        I'd like a definitive answer to this as well; I used to have a USCCA policy that was ended at the end of June (I got a lot of notifications about the DFS decision), but it looks like it's available again to join from my account. I keep asking different instructors and others from USCCA but noone seems to be able to tell me for sure that the NYS DFS situations was rectified, and if so, how? The 'complete coverage form' appears dated at the end of June which would suggest it was modified to correct those issues as it spells out clearly that payment is not made for claims found to arise out of a criminal act on the part of the insured. But given the situation this year, why is there no FAQ on their site that's like 'Yes, the policy is now NY-compliant'?

        11 months ago
  • Kevin M Lynch

    Eric: GREAT Article. I was a Gold Member but I upgraded to Platinum, after reading this article. Also, I had Insurance coverage on my gun collection with NRA this past year. When my renewal was up, I found another carrier, Collectors Insurance. Their coverage is better and their cost was about half. You should write an article on that comparison as well.

    1 year ago
  • Mike Mitchell

    I researched them all and I've been with CCW Safe for 5 years. I think they have the best coverage and are the best value in the industry. I highly recommend looking into their coverage/price if you looking for protection. I'm not associated with them, just a satisfied member.

    1 year ago
  • Silvie

    Sounds like this was written by some top salesperson for the company. Sorry, that's just my opinion.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      This kinda sounds like it was written by the competition. Just kidding! But no, it's by me who did some research before settling with USCCA. And I'm still paying every month for my coverage just like anyone else.

      1 year ago
      • Lori

        Just signed up for the hold plan, thanks for the article better safe then sorry

        1 year ago
        • Eric Hung

          Glad we could help, Lori!

          1 year ago
  • Brad S.

    CCW. pretty good imho.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks Brad!

      1 year ago
  • Michael

    Your the best, Eric. How do you always know what I want to know LOL. Seriously though, thank you!

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're so welcome, and...I try LOL

      1 year ago
  • Robert Kuiken

    Not available in New York ??????????

    1 year ago
  • Richard L. Gray

    I have a question and look for any info others can provide. I currently have the NRA Carry Guard (it renews this month) and I looked over the USCCA policy and information about it and found it had many things I liked that are not in the NRA policy. Early in the USCCA policy there is reference to terms on the Declaration page (for example, the Each Claim Retention Amount) that are not fully explained or defined in the body of the USCCA policy. I called USCCA and asked to see a copy of the USCCA policy Declaration page and was told they would not provide me with a copy of the policy. The representative with whom I spoke was nice enough but I don't think he really understood the reason I was asking for a copy of the Declaration page but was just reading from a script or canned answers. I was the General Counsel for an international property & casualty insurance company for close to 30 years and know that important information is on the Declaration page. Has anyone encountered this issue and been able to work through it with USCCA (or gotten a satisfactory answer as to why you can not see the Declaration page)? Thanks

    1 year ago
    • Michael

      You should be able to at least make a claim using the FOIA. Written letter to the main office requesting that page and siting the act should do it... I have not done something like that with an insurance company (and don't know why they would not display the information in the first place) but have done it other circumstances and yielded immidiate results. Hope this helps!

      1 year ago
      • Richard L. Gray

        FOIA (federal or state-style statues) are only applicable for actions filed against a government entity (not a private party) covered by the statute.

        1 year ago
  • Jim Edge

    Eric, Nice review! I came to the same conclusions for my self-defense insurance needs. I love their magazine; full of real time real world advice and lucid opinions. I hope I never need them, but I’m confident that they are in my corner.

    1 year ago
  • Montag

    You use "thetrace.org" as a reference against choosing the "Texas Law Shield"? USCCA may indeed have a better plan, but using a site bankrolled by the Bloomberg crowd throws up red flags. I wouldn't trust "Thetrace" to tell me where the bathroom was. Your sources need to be vetted a little better.

    1 year ago
    • David

      TheTrace was founded by seed money that came from Bloomberg, but their reporting in this matter at least was correct. I double checked the story just now and found multiple sources that all agreed on the details of the case, including TheTrace. Texas Lawyer Leagle Defensive Carry thread with a lot of good info. TexAgs another good thread with information. Reddit thread with MORE good information, although this thread was in part based on TheTrace reporting. Still, in the CCW sub and with a lot of good content. TheTrace might be a suspect source, but their information was vetted and cleared. They also have the best actually layman story on the subject that I've seen so far.

      1 year ago
  • Gga

    I just checked with USCCA and they offer full coverage for the spouse for an extra $47. The apparent lack of complete spousal coverage was why I went with Carry Guard.. Why are the comments gray text on light gray background? I can barely read the stuff.

    1 year ago
    • David

      Question, $47 / month or year,,?

      1 year ago
      • Eric Hung

        It's for the year...I'll be updating the article to show this pretty awesome perk!

        1 year ago
  • Kevin

    Eric, I signed up with USCCA in 2014. They were the best then and still are today. I signed up with the silver plan. I also get a 10% LEO discount. I worked in LE for 27 years and carried off duty. I hope I never have to use USCCA’s legal services. Kevin

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Yup...something we wish to never use but it's good to have.

      1 year ago
  • Dylan

    Does USCCA or other cover accidental discharge or range accident? Here in California about the only place you'll have a firearm is in your home, at the range, or to/from range or FFL. looking for best coverage for in-home firearm and range use . Very few non law enforcement/ LEOSA CCW permits here. Thanks.

    1 year ago
    • Rena

      California leaves it up to the county sheriffs. So it really depends on your county within California. I'm in Placer and received my CCW this month with virtually no hassle. Paperwork, fees, training, and an in person interview at the sheriff's office with a retired deputy.

      1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      I don't think so...this is more for defensive gun use. Someone stated that specific umbrellas might cover accidents.

      1 year ago
      • RJ Forester

        Eric if I recall correctly from the e-mails that USCCA sends me, they do cover citizens that do not have a CCW as well ( double checked my e-mail) but it appears they cover ones with out permits which would work for home defense situations, well not sure about the range part but lets just hope he doesn't shoot anyone at the range..

        1 year ago
  • B Sharp

    Great review! I believe that I have what I need to make an informed decision. Thanks Eric!

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Glad we could help out!

      1 year ago
  • Jenny

    you should read their fine print. See copied and paste below from USCCA actual insurance policy: "We have no obligation to provide a defense in connection with the investigation or defense of any criminal charge or criminal proceeding against the insured." "We do not have to furnish these bonds." The policy seems to tell you what it covers and then at the end of the sections tell you they don't have to provide the coverage they just said they would. Suggest everyone read the fine print!

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hi Jenny, thanks for bringing this up! I asked USCCA and here's what I found out: The language that is being referred to is between our Insurance Company and the USCCA. This is United Specialties saying they do not do this and it is the USCCA's responsibility. It is a common confusion of Members and prospective customers as they are used to being the "policyholder" for Auto, Home, Renters, Etc. As a Member, they are not the policyholder, the USCCA is the policy holder. What this means is the USCCA is the first line of funds, and then United Specialty is our back up for the Civil Suits, which is where the hefty monies are needed if a suit occurs. Most companies would normally withhold that information so their customers would not see it and get confused. I like the transparancy even though it can be confusing.

      1 year ago
  • fredd

    From my experience..........................USCCA insurance was a life saver, (no pun). Without a doubt...one of the best choices I have EVER made. Per my attorney's instructions, am not able to provide the details. As most of you have figured out already. I was forced to defend my family as well as my own derriere. Yes a life was lost, and three were saved. I was not arrested & allowed to go home after the event. The following people(USCCA), were exceptional. Lisa, Corrine and Jennifer. Attorney fees, paid immedially was contacted several times for any acute needs. Very supportive...highly recommended. My greatest wish I have is that no one has to go through this type of event.. It is emontially painful.

    1 year ago
    • Curious

      Just curious, but what coverage plan did you choose from USCCA?

      1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hi Fredd, thanks so much for sharing your story! Glad to hear USCCA had your back.

      1 year ago
  • Sandfa

    Why do you start new topics with the word, "so?" It means "therefore,' not "new topic."

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hey Sandra, I tend to write how I speak. But you're right...this article had an excessive amount of "so". So I guess I'll update it soon :-).

      1 year ago
  • Don

    Has anyone researched how many people have actually had to use the insurance? And how did it work for them?

    1 year ago
  • cdr

    I've had USCCA insurance for two years; given the number of prosecutors who hate guns/love publicity one would be a fool not to have some sort of insurance. I never even considered the NRA plan given that the NRA is very selective as to which gun owners they support vs. those whose rights they consistently remain silent rather than defend.

    1 year ago
  • Dave

    I would really like to see an in depth comparison of USCCA and CCW Safe. I did a little digging at CCW Safe and it looks to me that they have better coverage than USCCA with their top tier plan as compared to USCCA's top plan. Some of the biggest differences were that they have no cap on civil and defense funds, and they will cover you if you have to take a plea. They dispatch a support person directly to the site when possible. No limit on lawyer retainer and all funds are up front and don't need to be reimbursed. No cap on investigator cost. Appeals and record expungement covered. It appears that they cover everything that USCCA covers and then some so I'd like to hear from anyone who has done in depth comparison of the two.

    1 year ago
  • Dave

    USLawShield has my vote

    1 year ago
  • Gary A Telebar

    It's my first time on this site and I've spent an hour enjoying the great articles. Your comparison of gun liability insurance was both informative and humorous. Count me in as a loyal viewer of PEW PEW Tactical.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Glad to hear, Gary!

      1 year ago
  • Paul F.

    Thank You so much for putting this up. My wife and I are going over which is best, and this really helped a lot, and Thanks to you, we've made me a choice.

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're so welcome, Paul!

      1 year ago
  • Philip

    Hey, did your consider an umbrella policy with your home/auto insurance provider? I was able to get a $1M policy for less money that includes coverage for acts of self defense as well as any other liability (car accident, incident at home, etc)

    1 year ago
    • don cook

      I checked with State Farm Home Owners and the umbrella policy only covers if the shooting was an accident the discussion

      1 year ago
    • Dave

      Sure, but does your umbrella cover up front costs of retaining a lawyer? Is the lawyer versed in the use deadly force issues and have experience? Is it going to pay if you're found guilty of negligence? Does it cover bail bonds? Is your wife covered? Does it cover theft? Available 24/7? If not your umbrella has a few holes in it!

      1 year ago
  • Cog

    Is USCCA an insurance policy? What insurance company is providing the coverage? Who is being covered by the insurance, the firearm owner or USCCA? I see the NRA Carry Guard has a known national insurance carrier providing the coverage. I am down to USCCA and NRA carry guard. I am leaning to Carry Guard right now, but I was waiting to see USCCA insurance backer. Thanks.

    1 year ago
    • Dave

      What benifit do you see in Carry Guard over USCCA?

      1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hi Cog, this is from their site, "This liability policy is issued by United Specialty Insurance Company, a subsidiary of State National Companies, Inc. State National Companies currently writes over $600 million in premiums. United Specialty Insurance Company is rated ‘A’ by A.M. Best."

      1 year ago
  • Tom

    My wife and I signed up with Firearms Legal Protection (FLP) out of Dallas after the founder and DIrector of Legal Operations gave a 2 hour seminar at the range where we belong. (Poway Weapons & Gear). As Platinum members at PWG, we were able to get the Premium Family Plan for $150, reduced from $378.90 (including a $39.90 one-time setup fee). They're a pre-paid legal service (no legal fees out of your pocket and then wait for reimbursement). Their hotline is staffed by attorneys (anything you say on the phone is covered by attorney/client privilege). Many other benefits.

    1 year ago
  • Ralphieboy

    VERY NICE ARTICLE WITH IN-DEPTH INFORMATION. ALSO LOVED THE COMPARISONS OF INSURANCES. THX!

    1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      Glad we could help out!

      1 year ago
  • Michael

    Couldn't find any "Silver" plan? What did I miss?

    1 year ago
    • VeloRandy

      The Silver plan is no longer advertised, but is available if you ask for it when signing up by the phone.

      1 year ago
    • Eric Hung

      I missed an edit when they changed their plans. It was an old plan that is no longer available.

      1 year ago
  • gmag622

    Worth mentioning--- I just bought the Elite coverage at USCCA. For an extra $47/year, I was also able to insure my spouse with all the same coverage benefits. If I had not paid the extra $47/year, my spouse would only be covered for incidents within my home.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Good tip...that's new to me!

      2 years ago
      • Gary

        How does the USCCA define home? My wife & I reside in a motorhome part of the year and a friends house the remainder. From Merriam-Webster: 1 : one's place of residence : domicile........ 2 : the social unit formed by a family living together...... 3 : a familiar or usual setting : congenial environment; also : the focus of one's domestic attention.......... 4 a : a place of origin The question here is 'Are we covered wherever we reside?

        1 year ago
        • Eric Hung

          My gut says yes...but I'd confirm with USCCA just to be sure.

          1 year ago
  • Andrew

    I wonder where US Law Shield fits into this. Knock on wood I have never had to use one of these entities but in today's times I think any are likely better than none.

    2 years ago
    • David

      US Law Shield is the growth from Texas Law Shield (IIRC)

      1 year ago
    • Ken Musil

      Any reply’s to Andrews statement?

      1 year ago
  • Richard Hammond

    I would be interested to know how many cases they have handled and what was the outcome or resolution of the cases.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Hi Richard, I don't have that info but you can probably call them up to ask.

      2 years ago
  • Joseph Bunch

    Great article, very informative to help make a decision who to choose. I believe all readers would appreciate hearing the story or stories from people who have actually had to use the insurance and how it worked out

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks Joseph!

      2 years ago
  • JOHN W

    Hi Radarphos, My understanding is that crisis counselor who takes your "emergency call" assists in finding a pro "second amendment" attorney who well understands the issues surrounding the use of deadly force and the use of firearms or any other weapon in self defense.. I'm sorry you have vision issues. There is some great training available using non-ballistic weapons and weapons of opportunity. Good luck to you.

    2 years ago
    • radarphos

      Thanks for the information, John. Apparently I glossed over that information. What you share is re-assuring; and I was pleased that you re-enforced it..

      2 years ago
  • radarphos

    I have been studying self-defense for 3 years. I don't own a gun for several reasons: (1) astigmatism-poor eyesight, can't focus eyes, (2) old enough to have to consider my heirs getting any gun I buy (and the question--Are they fit to possess or carry??? I say, NO!); and (3) I decided if I wouldn't train, I wouldn't own. What I did instead was buy a SIRT to train with (and guess what?) Between work, chores and naps during TV movies...I am not training; but also my family doesn't know that I have it (so the hiding it and secrecy in the home is also a training deterrent). What I have been doing instead of buying that first gun is acquiring more knowledge: Target Focus Training (TFT) self-defense, Situational Awareness & Avoid-Escape-Defend programs, and I've bought some less than lethal self-defense items along with DVDs (TRS-FF) to show how to use them. I got USCCA because it covers "self-defense' legal matters with any type of weapon; and if I ever get into a self-defense altercation, I am covered. I still got Platinum level insurance based on Murphy's Law (the worst will happen). The only major disappointment I have with USCCA is the attorney listings. I checked out the attorney web sites and most of them are focused on "other than" CCW matters. I cannot determine their experience level, which hinders my confidence--but it also led me to increase my USCCA to the highest amount, just in case I must switch attorneys mid-stream. I also (thankfully) have no experience in that arena.

    2 years ago
  • Max

    Thank you for this. I was confused about the insurance when i looked into it but you cleared up a lot of information for me. I will probably be going with uscca myself too.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're welcome Max!

      2 years ago
  • James Brown

    I think that it was great information. I carry often, and the need for just in case insurance is something that will give me piece of mind. It's the same with vehicle and home owners insurance or renters insurance. The difference if there's a loss I/e vehicle or property your not going to jail. I will be joining USCCA on my next payday. Our legal system is broken why take a chance.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're welcome and glad you're joining!

      2 years ago
  • H Carter

    I've been a USCCA (Silver) Member since 2016. I hope I never have to test to see if I made a good decision. We must remember, this is "insurance first" benefits second. I'm like you Eric, we get bombarded with emails daily from USSCA and I keep reading them. Please keep up the great professional reviews and opinions on firearms, gear and issues which effect/affects us individuals who are involved in the Firearms Industry.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      I'll keep it up! There's tons of emails but I still at least open them to see what's going on.

      2 years ago
  • JOHN W

    Eric, I am also a USCCA member and did the same comparison you did with NRA and three others. USCCA insurance is head and shoulders above the others including NRA insurance. USCCA has extensive and really great videos and articles free to members and an award winning magazine that is included in your membership. Besides the beautiful color glossy magazine you get the digital version of all past issues free. I have purchases videos and books from them and found all of them to be top quality. Their Proving Ground program contains video scenarios followed by training on how the person going through the scenario could have done a better job and then a next scenario to show how the person improved in a second and even third scenario. On top of that there is a live webinar with experts from USCCA, outside experts, and an attorney who take live calls - all free. I just finished the E-Learning program and it was magnificent. (No, I do not work for USCCA and no I do not get a commission. This is truly everything is says. I was going to send one video set I purchase back, not because it was poor but because it was not exactly what I thought I needed - total refund, happily given. This is one of the most customer oriented organizations I have experienced! I am taking their firearm instructor program training at the end of September. Sorry to go on like this but you will not believe what you will get for your money. Yes, the critics will tell you that they constantly bombard you with emails and that is true. Some of them are free and some are repeated ads to purchase more products - if they fit your needs and your budget you will not be disappointed. IF they don't - just delete the email I am an NRA member also and I greatly appreciate the work they do to protect our second rights.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      That's great to hear on the videos...I haven't gotten around to them yet. Great to hear of your positive experience!

      2 years ago
      • JOHN W

        Thanks Eric, and thank you for all of the great information you bring to us. I am constantly referring people to your website.

        2 years ago
  • K

    Excellent and well researched article Eric, just what we needed to make our choice! Gracias senor.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Awesome!

      2 years ago
  • RickR

    Thank you for the comparison. I have been debating about getting some type of insurance from someone- so your comparison between USCCA and NRA Carry Guard- as well as the others (some I had heard of, others I had not) is VERY helpful. USCCA vs NRA Cary Guard Comparison chart especially helpful. Thank you and keep up the good work.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're so welcome, Rick!

      2 years ago
  • Dave

    Excellent article. About a year ago we added a segment of this subject to every CCW or weapons class which is always well received. Your article covers the topic perfectly. Mind if I pass out copies of this? Keep up the great work.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Thanks so much and no problem on passing this out!

      2 years ago
  • Steve

    Great article. Been thinking about getting for a while and the article is the kick I needed to sign up.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Awesome Steve!

      2 years ago
  • Lee Martin

    I chose USCCA last week for all the same reasons you mentioned. I always carry a knife, especially helpful where in a gun free zone. I have enjoyed all your articles. Thanks for the knowledgeable and not condescending opinions.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're so welcome Lee!

      2 years ago
  • Bryant Williams

    This was such a good what. I have been carrying here in Illinois pretty much since the law was passed here and have been thinking about getting coverage. This write up convinced me to where I'm not a USCCA member. Thank for the info.

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      You're so welcome Bryant!

      2 years ago
    • Bryant Williams

      major typos...sorry. This was such a good *write. This write up convinced me to where I'm *now a USCCA member.

      2 years ago
  • Eddie Hernandez

    There is a strong emphasis on the CC part but how do you get if you're at home? Does the same coverage apply?

    2 years ago
    • Eric Hung

      Yup, as far as I know it does. There's slight differences about your spousal coverage that I updated in the article.

      2 years ago
      • bill

        silver package?

        2 years ago
        • Eric Hung

          Hi Bill, it's now a legacy plan...the lowest is gold as of today.

          1 year ago
New to Guns ? Check out our beginners guns video course. Start Now