Last Updated: September 9, 2017
Disclaimer: While the information provided here is legal in nature, it is not to be construed as legal advice, and is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
With gun laws varying from state to state, it makes sense the rules on concealed carry for each state would also be a little different everywhere.
Even though it’s a bit of a hassle to buy a handgun in Oregon, the state doesn’t have too many hurdles in the way for anyone wanting to get a CCW permit.
Our quick reference guide has everything you need to know to carry your handgun responsibly!
First Things First
For those of you who have already checked out our Oregon gun laws section, you’ll know that Oregon is an open carry state. That means the state lets you carry your handgun as long as it’s clearly visible, even if it’s just in a holster on your belt.
Even though the state requires a concealed handgun license (CHL) in order to carry concealed, that attitude towards open carry should be a hint that Oregon is a shall-issue state, and will grant your CHL application as long as you meet all the requirements and provide all of the required information.
There is some bad news though. Non-residents cannot apply for a CHL in Oregon. You’ll have to try your luck with Arizona, Florida, or Utah. Or all three if you want to maximize your coverage across the US!
So what does it take to qualify?
To apply for an Oregon CHL, you will need to apply to the sheriff of your county.
To actually qualify for the CHL, you must:
- Be 21 or older;
- Be a US citizen or legal resident who has been in the US continuously for 6 months, and can show writing to the INS documenting intent to acquire citizenship;
- Live in the county where you applied for the CHL; and
- Demonstrate competence in firearms safety.
The firearms safety training can be any Oregon CHL training course, but your best bet is to find an Oregon-specific course that is taught by an NRA certified instructor, which would be sure to meet the CHL requirements.
Of course, you’ll want to check with the course instructor to make sure the CHL requirements will be satisfied during the course, and you can take the certificate of completion with you to submit with your CHL application.
But There’s More!
Even if you meet all those requirements, there are still a few conditions that would prohibit you from getting a CHL.
You will be automatically denied a CHL if you:
- Have any outstanding warrants for arrest;
- Are free on pretrial release;
- Have been convicted or found guilty of a felony;
- Have been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor in the last 4 years;
- Have been committed to the Mental Health and Developmental Disability Services Division;
- Have been found to be mentally ill and are subject to an order prohibiting purchase or possession of firearms;
- Have been discharged from juvenile court in the last 4 years for an act that would constitute a felony or misdemeanor involving violence;
- Have been cited for stalking; or
- Are under a protective order.
A lot of the conditions are the same as those prohibiting purchase and ownership of firearms, which makes sense, but there are also a few extras to pay attention to, so make sure you go through that list carefully!
The Waiting Game
Once you’ve made sure you met all the requirements and submitted all the paperwork and information, you’ll have to wait about 45 days to get a decision back from the sheriff’s office.
If everything goes well, you should get a shiny new CHL in the mail and you can start carrying concealed! If you were denied, you’ll get a letter telling you what the reason is, and have 30 days to appeal the decision. Typically it’s just a missing document or mistake on the application form, so double check your work!
Once everything is finally settled, you will just need to remember to keep that CHL on you at all times, and to renew it every 4 years!
Where do you think you’re going?
Even with a CHL, there are still some places that are off limits to you and your trusty sidearm.
You cannot carry inside:
- Federal courthouses;
- Social security offices;
- Secured areas of airports;
- Private property and businesses where the owner has signs prohibiting firearms; and
- National parks, primarily in buildings and other areas where posted signs indicate firearms are prohibited.
If you have to go to any of these places, the best place to put your handgun would be in a car safe hidden out of sight, so your firearm will be waiting for you when you get back.
The best for last! In addition to being able to carry concealed in Oregon, the CHL also will let you carry concealed in states throughout the country.
Your Oregon CHL is recognized in:
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
For everyone else just visiting the state of Oregon, a bit of bad news. Oregon does not recognize the CCW permits of any other state, so you’ll have to either open carry or leave your handgun at home on this trip.
That’s it! All you need to know about getting a CHL from Oregon! Take a look at our recommendations for concealed holsters if you’re looking to put that new permit to good use, and don’t forget about CCW insurance, too!
Also be sure to check out our general Oregon gun laws section if you haven’t already, and brush up on your knowledge!