[Review+Video] Canik TP9SFX: Awesome Value Competition Gun

The best bang for your buck 9mm pistol is a title that a LOT of pistols strive for.

But there can only be one, truly.

Canik has been around for a while now and has a HUGE line of pistols to show off, so it’s high time we put one through the paces and find out just how these Turkish gats do on the range.

Canik TP9SFX nice
Canik TP9SFX — oh, ya.

If you can’t wait for the answer, check out our complete video review!

And if you like that sort of thing — subscribe to the Pew Pew Tactical YouTube channel!

Table of Contents

Loading...

Canik, Turkey’s Finest

I’ve long been of the opinion that foreign firearms don’t really get the respect they often deserve. And Turkey is a great example… sort of.

If you’ve looked at budget shotguns in the last 20 years, you’ll find that a huge host of them are made in Turkey. Some of them are outstanding for their price, some of them can run on par with high-end examples from Beretta or Benelli.

Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon I Sporting Shotgun action
Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon I

But most of them are what you would expect when you pay under $200 for a shotgun.

Turkey has been in the firearms game for a long time but Canik has only been on the US market for about 10 years.

Think of Canik as a Turkish Armalite, because like Armalite, Canik is actually a major Aerospace company also.

Canik TP9SFX more hey

Partnering with Century Arms, they’ve been importing the TP Series pistols to the US for the last decade — and the reports of these gats have almost always been favorable.

Range Report

We love us some budget guns.

But we love value, even more, we want our dollar to go as far as it can while still delivering quality and reliability.

After hearing that, our friends at GunPrime said that we had to give the TP9SFX a shot. So we did!

550
at GunPrime

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Johnny got it out to the range and has run steel and brass through it by the box load. And simply, it runs. Always.

Zero malfunctions in a review is always awesome to report!

Claiming that the TP9SFX is “competition ready” out of the box… Canik actually delivers on the claim.

This is a full-size gun, and it shoots like one. 5.2″ barrel, 20+1 magazine, and a rather sexy Tungsten Grey Cerakote finish, the gun shoots flat and accurately.

Canik TP9SFX flat
Flat Shooter

Follow-up shots are quick due to a trigger with an awesome reset, very short and crisp. While the pull overall is a touch long, the reset is fantastic.

Sights

Iron sights are standard on the TP9SFX.

Sidebar: the SF stands for “Special Forces” and we can’t figure out the X but we’re hoping it stands for “Xtreme”because it adds the porting and optic mount.

Now back to the sights.

They aren’t bad at all, not our favorite but definitely work.

Canik TP9SFX Dual Sites
Canik TP9SFX front and rear sights look… decent

Really though they are kind of secondary since the slide comes cut for red dots AND the box includes mounting plates for all of the major large red dot footprints.

This is outstanding and a massive increase in value to the package. Getting a slide milled isn’t cheap and often costs almost as much or more as the red dot itself.

Tested Pistol Red Dots
Tested Pistol Red Dots

Mounting plates aren’t as good as a milled footprint, but these give you the flexibility to use what you want and change your mind later.

Plus, these are actually made of metal. And well made. Unlike some other major brands.

Canik TP9SFX heavy metal plates
Metal! Actual metal. Like, from the ground.

I’m looking at you, Glock.

In The Box

Oh man, this comes with everything you could ask for.

2 magazines, cleaning kit, 4 mounting plates, extra backstraps, magazine loader, and even a holster!

Canik TP9SFX everything in the box
Everything in the box

Okay, the holster is kind of cheap. But it’s better than sticking it down your pants.

This is probably the most extras you get in a standard pistol package for anything under $1,000.

For pure value, this is punching way outside its weight class.

By The Numbers

Reliability: 5/5

Two words: it runs. 

Ergonomics: 4/5

Oversized Ambi controls, backstrap options, great grip texture. Good ergos. 

Accuracy: 4/5

Other reviewers have driven nails with the TP9 series. I didn’t. But still solid. 

Canik TP9SFX targets
Johnny isn’t a sniper, but even he gets a decent group

Customization: 4/5

RMR / reflex options with adapters plus a rail upfront. Not bad in the options department.  

Value: 5/5

Name me more value in the entire industry. No, really, down in the comments — do it.

550
at GunPrime

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Overall: 4.5/5

Again, we wish it was U.S. made. But that aside, solid gun. Huge capacity. Huge value. 

Conclusion

We can’t find a pistol that delivers as much value as the TP9SFX. The reliability, quality, and boatload of extras that come in the box all for a shockingly low price really puts the TP9SFX in a class of its own. If you want to get into handgun competition or have a really awesome range gun right out of the box, this is an incredible option.

550
at GunPrime

Prices accurate at time of writing

Prices accurate at time of writing

Throw a white light on the rail and this is a formidable home defense pistol.

Pew Pew Tactical Favorite Pistol Lights
Just some of the weapon lights we’ve tested!

And if you STILL haven’t checked out the full review video…

Is there anything that can match the value delivered by Canik? Let us know in the comments! If you’re looking for the perfect red dot to match with your new gat, take a look at the Best Pistol Red Dots!

The Best Gun Deals, Coupons and Finds

Subscribe to Pew Pew Tactical's sales and deals email.

26 Leave a Reply

  • Kevin Martin

    Great pistol. Even better when I found a 'just like new only used' blackout model for 350! SCORE!!

    1 month ago
  • Chris

    Slide release only on the left side is rather no ambi.

    1 month ago
  • Norm

    Does Canik chamber pistols for any caliber other than 9mm?

    1 month ago
    • Ray V

      Hi Norm - the only caliber Canik features on their USA website is 9mm. Perhaps they make other caliber handguns, but are restricted to only 9mm for export to the USA via Century Arms. That’s only speculation on my part.

      1 month ago
  • Nick

    I had a hell of a time finding magazines with the Tungsten color base plate, so I went with the all black. I agree with everything you said. This is now my competition pistol. With a red dot it’s absolutely the best I’ve used including Glock 34, Walther PPQ Match, FN, and CZ P10. Really incredible out of the box for the price. Additional, using 124 gr bullets feels like a dream in your hands. Only problem I had at the range initially has the slide kicking with the last round but that eventually played itself out after about 100 rounds, so 4-5 magazine exchanges. Lastly, I had to drive to MN to find a dealer. I live in ND. Guys (and Gals) you will not be disappointed. Promise

    1 month ago
    • John

      TTI CZ75 baseplates fit the TP9SFX magazines, if that would suit you.

      1 month ago
    • Ray V

      Nick? I forgot to mention that I also could only find mags with black base plates when I wanted more....so likewise, I have several in black (plus the original 2 in gray).

      1 month ago
    • Ray V

      Hi Nick - I had the same experience when breaking in my TP9SFX. But after break-in, it’s been a very sweet shooter !!! Also, mounting a full-size weapon light such as Streamlight’s TLR-1HL (or LAPG’s XWL) helps me eliminate muzzle flip. Happy shooting !!!

      1 month ago
  • dsutton

    Without going into the US vs. the rest of the world stuff, the Canik is about the same price as the M&P. I have handled a Canik, and everything about it was rattily. I've owned a couple of M&Ps, a .45 is my current sidekick. The differences between the M&P and Canik are noted, but it'd be hard for me to say that the Canik is a better value than the M&P, especially since it doesn't have a long term track record.

    1 month ago
    • Ray V

      Hi Mr/Ms Sutton - I cannot disagree with your logic regarding longevity, and can only attest that I’ve enjoyed shooting both pistols. As they say, “Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder”. Happy shooting !!

      1 month ago
  • Paul Dalton

    I'd really appreciate seeing information (from someone who has spent time shooting both) comparing the specs, features, accuracy, shootability, etc. of this Canik TP9SFX to the current S&W M&P 2.0 (5" barrel). "Value" is a subjective conclusion, but it's really impossible to question that judgment without facts.

    1 month ago
    • Ray V

      Hi Paul - I own the Canik TP9SFX and two (2) S&W M&P 2.0, 5" barrel pistols (one in black and one in FDE). As an active shooter who owns and loves all 3 guns, I can point out a few comparisons for you: 1) the Canik has a 5.2" barrel, providing you slightly more accurate shooting than the M&P 5" barrel; 2) the Canik mags hold 20-rounds vs the M&P mags hold 17-rounds; 3) the Canik trigger feels 1-1.5 lbs lighter than the M&P 2.0 trigger. My final recommendation for you is this: if you buy the Canik, order a spare "spring set" from Canik, since they are Turkish-made, and parts may become unavailable / hard to find in future years. Personally, I do not regret buying any of my 3 subject handguns. P.S. I have an LAPG XWL mounted on each of them, which helps reduce muzzle flip on each one.

      1 month ago
      • Nick

        Thats a very good point on the "spring set". Crap. As an aside, I found it interesting that I could not find extra magazines on the Century Arms website, however, could through MagShack. I prefer MagShack over GunMag, both in price and availability.

        1 month ago
      • David, PPT Editor

        Awesome breakdown, thanks!

        1 month ago
  • Felix

    I got mine with the Vortex red dot for $479 total AFTER I got a $150 cash back on a new Credit card. An absolutely fantastic gun that shoots like a dream. Believe the hype. Everything written about this gun is true. Lots and lots of gun for the price point.

    1 month ago
  • Emil Ez

    Nope not on my watch, I’d rather put down more to support American manufactured Quality firearms. U.S. made firearms are not always quality guns that’s a given but there are many that are and some are real bargains to boot. Consider that with U.S. responsive professional customer service Vs Century’s incredibly and positively poor CS and I cannot bring myself to a place where I’d actually make this purchase. That is just my take and it isn’t intended to negate anyone else’s. If I’m “missing out” then that’s fine but I really don’t think I am and at least I hold my ground.

    1 month ago
    • Fyrfytr998

      Lol, "I won't buy a top quality pistol, because, 'Merica." You might as well admit you heard the rumor that Canik supposedly secretly funds Al Qaeda and call it a day. I'd rather buy the Canik and shoot a terrorist with it, than trust my life to a lesser quality weapon.

      1 month ago
    • Felix

      If that's your reasoning I understand but on the same note, I would think you wouldn't even stopped to look at this article due to the fact that its not American made. Kinda feel you're like the author of this article. A little frustrated that this foreign gun is better than a lot of american guns. And "yes", I am american with lots of american guns but I just call things the way I see them. If the product is good, then it's good regardless of "who" made it. I can't sit here and buy an inferior gun just because it's made in the US and be proud of it. I should be demanding that "We" step up our game and build better products than the rest of the world in a decent price range instead of trying to get rich on everything we sell. Just sayin'.

      1 month ago
  • Daim

    If you dont buy one and are a true gun fan you are silly and missing out. Put a surefire light vortex dot kydex holster for under a grand. Hit steel 20 out of 20 with blazer brass. Feels kinda similar to fn 509.

    1 month ago
  • Bo Diddy

    I would not buy anything associated with Century Arms. I bought one of their American made AK's and the extractor retaining pin broke after 30 shots. I took it back to the gun store I bought it from and they could not get Century Arms to respond at all, even after several tries. So I had to take it to another gun shop who specialized in AK's and they fixed it. Century Arms customer service sucks!

    1 month ago
    • Shepherd of Fire

      Yeah, Century has a bad reputation due to putting out junk AKs. The C39s and VIKAS have mediocre at best metallurgy and quality control is terrible on several components. Lots of testimony and videos to back that up. Their WASR10s are pretty good since they're mostly Romanian imported parts assembled by them. I would still do a full teardown and inspect every part, given their history, or....... Just build your own AK if you want one.

      1 month ago
  • Spider51

    I have one with a vortex red dot. Love it. Was surprised the first time I cleaned it at how easy it was to take down compared to other brands. Never a jam. Most accurate hand gun in my bag.

    1 month ago
  • Johnathan McLaughlin

    I have an SFX in Whiteout and absolutely love it! I bought mine March 04, 2020, and only paid $400.00 for it. I put a red FreedomSmith trigger in it (doesn't change the trigger pull weight) which gets rid of all the pretravel in the trigger. Fantastic upgrade to an already great trigger! The only thing I don't like is the sights. The FO front is way too small for my tastes. I am going to put NightFision sights on it like I did to my Canik TP9SF Elite (almost 3,000 rounds so far with no problems). As the review stated, the SFX runs any ammo I put through it (over 500 rounds so far), and is accurate when used with good ammo (I've shot some reloads that were all over the place, but that's not the guns fault). I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants the features it has. The trigger is probably my favorite thing about it. I've never felt a stock trigger that was so good. I've heard the Walther PPQ line of pistols has a similar trigger as well.

    1 month ago
    • SK0

      The Canik TP9 series started as a licensed copy of the Walther P99. The Walther P99 evolved into the PPQ. Walther really didn't see the potential of their own design, but Canik did.

      1 month ago
  • Henry E.

    I have one. You should get one. I've run thousands of rounds through it and have never thoroughly cleaned it, not a single fail. Everything about these Caniks is unbelievable at the price point. Accuracy is dead on with the advertised match grade barr. Get one before the price gets any higher. I've got $415 in mine from Gunbuyer.com. Available as pictured, all black, all white, and who knows how else. Get one.

    1 month ago
  • Vulcan

    Love my dark green with a bronze slide Canik TP9Sfx. Got mine a year ago for $480 and the one in this review was just $450 at that time. Put a Vortex Venom on it and a tiny but full power green laser on the rail. It's a plus the mags for the Canik fit my Taurus G2c for practice. I read they fit the G3c too as does a Sig mag. I put a full Canik mag in the Taurus and it snapped in tight. Have not fired it yet using the Canik mag, but one guy said you give up last shot slide hold open. At the range for practice and plinking, break-in, who cares? Back to the Canik, let's just say there is nothing I don't like about it. Great balance, takedown, grips that fit BIG hands, weight, extra long mag release button that my thumb doesn't try to activate during firing and they give you 3 sizes, little tool kit, dot scope risers, and more. Fiber optic light gathering front sight post. Probably the best value I even had with guns, with maybe a different class of gun right there too, the Taurus G2c with stainless slide delivered, no tax for $185. Two different animals.

    1 month ago
New to Guns ? Check out our beginners guns video course. Start Now