Hand-Picked Daily GUN DEALS, and Exclusive Coupons Codes >>>

Delaware Concealed Carry Laws

Last Updated: May 29, 2017

Disclaimer:  While the information provided here is legal in nature, it is not to be construed as legal advice, and is for educational and entertainment purposes only.  

With so many different gun laws across the country, keeping track of the laws on carrying concealed just complicates things even more.

Unfortunately, Delaware has put in a few hoops for residents to jump through in order to get a CCW permit.  

We’ll go over what you need to know to apply for a Delaware CCW permit and what do watch out for once you’ve got it.

Delaware Flag
Delaware Flag

First things first

Before applying for a CCW permit, called a Concealed Deadly Weapon Permit (CDW permit), you’ll need to make sure you are not prohibited from owning a firearm in the first place.  Once you’ve got that part down, you’ll be ready to fill out the application.  You’ll need to get the application through the Delaware Court website, or in person at your county’s Prothonotary’s Office.

Delaware is a may-issue state, which means the courts may issue you a CDW permit if you meet the requirements and file the application, but there’s always the chance they may decide not to issue, unlike more gun-friendly states like Arizona or Alaska.

Handguns looking for a home

So here’s the deal

In addition to the basic requirements to own and buy a firearm in Delaware, there are some additional steps in getting a CDW permit.

To apply for a CDW permit, you must:

  • Have your application published once, at least 10 business days before filing, with a newspaper of general circulation in your county (the application lists some acceptable newspapers);
  • Obtain and attach an affidavit by the newspaper showing the publication requirement has been met;
  • Submit 5 reference questionnaires completed by citizens of the county where you reside (all unrelated and living at different addresses);
  • Have the application notarized.

The application also requires a few other things like photos and filing fees, which are listed on the application form.  In some cases, you may also be contacted by the state Attorney General’s Office for a personal interview (don’t freak out!).

The home stretch

When the review of your application is complete, you’ll get a letter denying or approving your application.  If you’re denied, you can try to appeal the decision.

If you’re approved, you’re not done yet!  You’ll have to complete an approved gun course within 90 days of the application approval before you will finally be issued a CDW permit.  If you can’t meet this last step, you will have to start all over!

One more thing…

A Delaware CDW permit is good for 3 years when you first apply.  Each renewal will be good for another 5 years.  

Don’t forget to take your approved gun course!

Have Gun, Will Carry

Once you’ve gone through the gauntlet of requirements to finally get your CDW permit, there are still some places where you cannot carry your gun.  

Police stations, prisons, courthouses, state and national forests, casinos, and federal buildings are some of the places where you still won’t be able to carry your handgun.  Any place that has security checkpoints and metal detectors are probably places that do not permit firearms on the premises.  And of course, if a building or area has signs prohibiting firearms, just leave it in your car.

Reciprocity

The second best part of getting a CCW permit is being able to carry with you even when you’re out of state (the best part of course is to carry during your normal daily activities!).  

Fortunately, Delaware’s CDW permit is recognized by over half the country, so you’ve got a pretty good chance of being able to put that permit to use even when on vacation.

The states that do recognize Delaware’s CDW permit are:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
States recognizing Delaware CDW permit in blue

Just stopping by

If you’re visiting Delaware, the state recognizes CCW permits from a good number of states across the country too.  In some cases though, only specific types of CCW permits from those states are accepted.  Fortunately, we’ve noted them for you! (You’re welcome)

States recognized by Delaware for CCW:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Idaho (enhanced permits only)
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico   
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota (Class 1 permits only)
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota (enhanced permits only)
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • West Virginia

As long as you’re on the list, and meet any of the special permit type requirements, you’re good to go!

How About that Virginia Loophole for 28-State Reciprocity?

Loophole you say?

It’s really just a super easy way to get your CCW with an ONLINE course.

You see…Virginia will give you a “nonresident concealed handgun permit” for taking and passing an online course.  This permit then grants you CCW privileges in 28 states.

Check out the 28 states and the most popular course here from Survival Life.

Carry on!

That’s it!  All you need to know about getting a CDW permit from Delaware!  Take a look at our recommendations for concealed holsters if you’re looking to put that new permit to good use, and don’t forget about CCW insurance too!

And if you need to brush up on the laws of buying and owning all types of firearms in Delaware, be sure to check out our general Delaware gun laws section!

Join the community! Log in
Please provide a valid email address.
Password is required.
or
Register
Please provide a valid email address.
The password should contain at least 8 characters with at least one number and one capital letter.
or
Trouble logging in?
Type your email address and we’ll send you a link to reset your password.
Please provide a valid email.
Password
Type your new password and hit button below to confirm it.
Field is required.
Account already exists
We already have an account registered for email address () which is linked to your Facebook account.
To log in type your Pew Pew Meter password below.
Field is required.
Account already exists
We noticed that you have previously logged in with your Account which is linked to the same email address () - we can link both of your accounts together.
In order to link your accounts, hit button below and log in to your Account with the same email as above.

Account in Pew Pew meter means more

Check what do you get by creating an account
Check and save your reviews!
Bookmark and compare your favorite firearms
Manage your newsletter subscription
pew pew tactical logo

new here?

Personalize your experience.
Select what level shooter you are!

pew pew tactical logo

level up your gun knowledge

Thanks! We'll send you the latest guides and training tips geared towards your level.

pew pew tactical logo

welcome!

You'll now receive newsletters of our best articles on techniques, guns & gear.

$47 value

yours free!

targets targets
free

practice targets

printer icon printable

our 9 favorite targets and drills

free

practice targets

printer icon printable

enter your email to download

We'll only use the information provided according to our privacy policy.

success icon

Ready to Download

Click below to begin your download

download pdf